We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Galena”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Galena for a short break from ending a long term business. Galena was close with a lot of restaurants and shops. We planned on relaxing a lot so we got a suite with a hot tub and fireplace. The room did not disappoint. Everything in the room worked plus there was plenty of hot water to run the hot tub twice a day. The bed had a great matress and was dressed for either a cold or warm room. Judy and Kathy at the desk were friendly and accomodating with our requests and for references on what to do and where to eat. We went off season so their rates were the best we could find for that style of room. The hotel is close to downtown and is on the side of town where one can quickly get to Dubuque or Wisconsin. The Piggly Wiggly is located in the same block so one can pick up anything forgotten for the trip. We look forward to the time when we can go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 868 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Every employee is always extremely friendly and willing to give information on anything needed. They go above and beyond. We own a small business and customer service is very important. We have stayed at the Galena property many times and always love it. This is a must stay experience. Very, Very Clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our stay here was the best we have had in our travels.
We travel in 7 states to do ballroom dancing (2 or 3 nights a week). Frequently, this necessitates overnight stays for 1 or 2 nights. We danced in Dubuque , IA last weekend - and stayed at your facility in Galena,IL. What a pleasure! The room was comfortable....clean....NO Odors....the staff was friendly. We are planning another stay this weekend. sure wish you had a property near Milwaukee, Wis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been going to Galena for about 20 years now and I try to always stay at Stoney Creek. I have always had great service there. They do have a very good continental breakfast and it does change from stay to stay. They do not have a restaurant in the hotel, however there are several places within walking distant and several place will deliver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I have gone here two years in a row for our anniversary. The pool and hot tub were a great temperature, and the area was very nice; our room and bed were spacious and we really enjoy the décor. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and inviting. The hotel has a very cozy ambiance. We will definitely be going again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Galena. We chose a room with a whirlpool tub and it was a little pricey, but worth the cost. We thought our room was very nice and clean. The lady at the front desk was very polite and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathifatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was only in Galena for less than 48 hours, and I had to make long-distance hotel reservations, but I chose well. The staff was welcoming and very attentive. The rooms were clean, well-decorated and spacious, and the breakfast was minimalist, but tasty. We were able to stay in the breakfast room for several hours preparing for a business presentation and the staff was especially accommodating. I can't wait for a chance to go back and enjoy the hotel indoor pool and other amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing