We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, and fun”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, and fun”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Stoney Creek Inn during our weekend outing to Galena. I chose it because it was reasonably priced.
The lodge received high marks from our group for its:
-Very friendly staff,
-Comfortable rooms,
-Fun decor with an outdoor theme, and
-Short drive from downtown Galena.

The pool looked great, although we didn't partake. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are themed rooms here - if that interests anyone you should ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavoneblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
404
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A short crescent-shaped drive up and northwest from downtown, off the beaten path, but near to lots of useful amenities, Stoney Creek Inn is one of my best on-line finds. Part Cabela’s, LL Bean, and great lodge décor in a cozy scale. More than a wee bit of a nod to the St. Andrews touch, for golf that is. Doggie welcoming and friendly as they come with lots of private lawn for you know what. Spotlessly maintained room, common areas and pool. Heartier breakfast than expected. Staff attention to detail and friendliness top notch. Only one complaint…our stay was too brief. We’ll be back. There are themed rooms we just have to try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaneHaulRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our two nights at Stoney Creek. It was clean and comfortable. The decor is an odd but surprisingly effective blending of northwoods and golf, with warm, restful colors throughout. It is located less than a mile from old downtown Galena, making it very convenient, though there was nothing special about the business neighborhood in which it is situated. Because it is the beginning of the slow season, our rates were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very impressive lobby with a nice fire going in the fireplace. Loved the wood decor. I had requested a double handicapped room, which we got just down the hall. The bad part it was so dark in there, the reason for this is our window looked right out on the adjoining building, so we had to constantly have all the lights on. Very comfortable beds, and good pillows, I didn't even have to use my own pillow. The bathroom was big and the shower was huge. I wish there had been a little shelf in the corner to put things on, (near the shower area) as not enough room by the sink itself. The shower itself had a metal box like shelf to put soap/shampoo on, so that was nice. ( I have seen some places where there is no where to sit this stuff when taking a shower)
Also a refrigerator in the room would be a nice added touch. The chair in the corner was very comfortable. Very clean room.
Staff was very friendly, always greeting a person.
Nice breakfast room, with plenty of seating. The first morning they had omelet type eggs and sausage patties and also Belgian Waffle maker, which didn't seem to be working right that morning, the timer didn't work when I flipped it over, so I just had to guess. Also the toaster is slow as can be. I took water out of the machine and it was terrible tasting!! The next morning the waffle maker was working just fine, and they had biscuits/gravy and I brought my own water!!! They also had a variety of other items, I am just mentioning the ones that we indulged in.
One evening I decided to walk the hotel, going up the stairs at the end of the hall, wandered around the halls, and almost got lost with twists and turns. Only 75 rooms, but it felt like more than that trying to find my way around. There is an exercise room, but not very big, but I did see someone always on the treadmill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Inn was clean and well decorated, The staff was very friendly and efficient. The complementary breakfast was great.
It is located near a small shopping center and far enough away from the congestion of down town so it is quire and peaceful.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Falls, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We made reservations on line and told them we wanted extra seating in our room. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade from an extended king whirlpool to a king theme whirlpool suite with a sofa, fireplace and wet bar. It was beautiful! We had stayed there before so they enrolled us in the Northwoods Travel Program, which gives you benefits like up grades etc. The only complaint I had was the mattress and pillows were a little too firm for my taste. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jknwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nekoosa, Wi
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at Stoney Creek Inn during our visit to Galena. The hotel is decorated in a rustic, backwoods decor. They have a small bar/lounge which we did not use but noticed people still sitting there at 10 PM when we returned from the casino (DiamondJos) in Dubuque. The hotel and rooms were very clean which again is very important to us. They have an indoor poll which we did not use. Checkin and checkout went smoothly and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was your average hotel breakfast but we don't stay at a hotel because of the breakfast they serve. The only downside to the rooms was the size of the bathroom, very small. I thought the price was great for the quality of the hotel. We would definitely stay again when in the area. We ate at Dirty Guerts downtown Galena and was very satisfied with the service and food. We also took the trolley ride and tour of Galena and was enjoyed it, we used the trolley were the proceeds benefited the Galena Historical Society. Guide was very knowlegable on the history of the city. Enjoyed our trip and wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchmidtNekoosa_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing