We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice spot”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice looking, inside and out. Rooms are good size, beds are decent. They have a lot of little things that add to the decor. Breakfast is part of the rate, and the area is large, and food is pretty good. Good place overall to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
404
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FtWayne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stumbled upon the Stoney Creek Inn while searching TripAdvisor for hotels in Galena, IL. After reading all the feed back for the various hotels in the area, it appeared this hotel had the most favorable reviews so my wife and I took a chance and booked a room for two nights. We were not disappointed. The prices are very reasonable for what you get. It was very clean and quiet with plenty of parking. We liked the north woods theme of the interior. The swimming pool was a nice temperature, not too hot or cold. There is plenty of outdoor seating to sit and read and enjoy the outdoors. The only thing we could gripe about was the placement of the towel rack in the bathroom of the room we had. The bathroom was sort of small and the towel rack is placed directly above the toilet. The towel bar had two hand towels placed on it and there were two washcloths placed on top of each hand towel. When we went to dry our hands after washing them, the slightest movement of the hand towel cause the washcloth/cloths to, (you guessed it) fall directly into the toilet below. It probably isn't that way in all of the rooms as there are some larger rooms available. If I am ever in Galena, IL in the future, I would certainly pick this hotel again.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a King bed but there were slightly smaller and larger "family" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indianaflats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My mother and I stayed here in the middle of May for my first trip to Galena. Fell in love with Galena, and this little hotel was perfect for our stay. Great place for a couple of gals just bumpin' around. Clean, quiet rooms - and I loved how it was out of the Galena downtown busy area and had a Walmart right near by. The pool was seriously impressive, Mom and I enjoyed some needed relaxation all by ourselves later around 9 PM in the pool - was great! I think it helped that we visited Galena in the off season, wasn't crazy busy...of if the hotel was, it didn't show! Would definitely stay here on our next trip to Galena! Thanks for a safe stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ande N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort, il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our first time at a Stoney Creek property and it won't be our last. The hotel was recommended by a friend, but what really sold us was the warm welcome we received from the desk clerk, Kathy. She is a great ambassador for this hotel, helping us choose the right type of room to meet our needs and making sure we felt comfortable. The one area that could use improvement was the breakfast accommodations. The hot food items were tepid and all the plates and utensils were plastic. A neighboring hotel uses real plates and silverware. We look forward to another visit to Galena and a stay at Stoney Creek.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roye6019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is our third or fourth time staying at Stoney Creek Inn in Galena. We were not disappointed,
Clean rooms, nice continental breakfast and quiet. Staff is very friendly, pool is in a separate building so there is no noise from the pool area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had our family reunion at this hotel this past weekend 6/22/13. The rooms were very nice and clean, but disappointed there were only double beds in 2-bed rooms. Not big enough beds for us and others complained of the same. The reunion room was nice and clean but hot. AC could not keep up when people started to arrive and was too warm. Family playing instruments said their instruments got too warm and also selves. Only other complaint was the staff (just one) was rude to people and not accomadating at all. Sorry to say, we will not stay or have another family reunion at this hotel again. It is definately crossed off our list of favorites. We reserved at least 12 or 13 rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineSteffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at another Stoney Creek in the past, but this was my husband's first experience. I knew he would love it, and he did.

Excellent service, with a quiet location. Spend a very little bit extra for an expanded king or themed suite. It is so worth it. The regular rooms are fine, but why stay in one if you can afford a few more dollars a night for something special?

The rooms are absolutely immaculate, and the beds are very comfortable. Quality all the way. The pool is exceptional, and the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Huge beamed ceiling with skylights, themed sconces, plenty of seating, both inside and outside. Great, large spa set above the pool, surrounded by rocks. There is a sauna and private pool showers. Can you tell I liked the pool?

Nice little lounge off the lobby is friendly and adequate.

If I have one slight knock on this hotel, it would be the breakfast. Powdered eggs were cooked so well done they were actually hard, and there was basic waffles and baked goods. The coffee was pretty good, but spend a couple of dollars and go to Otto's for breakfast.

We are staying here for a week in August, and I can't wait. I even requested the same room we had this time. Great job Stoney Creek!

Room Tip: I usually like a top floor location due to footsteps above, but we had no issue on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing