We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here last night after skiing at Chestnut mountain. It was close to the hill and not too expensive. The decor was rustic and the kids loved all the bears. I am sure this was in the information but we were surprised there was no fridge or microwave in the room because so many places have that no. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The breakfast "buffet" was very minimal - a waffle maker, some biscuits and gravy, and cereals. Not really what i would call a buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen37837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 875 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel had EVERYTHING! A large indoor pool, a large whirlpool and a sauna. We stayed in the Captions themed room. It had plenty of space. Hot tub with powerful jets, fireplace, large tv, refrigerator and microwave. Very clean. Loved the way the hotel was decorated....nice outdoor- woodsy feeling. Staff friendly. Reasonable rates. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the themed rooms. Just a little extra...but you get so much more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the "Fishing Shack" theme room for a Valentine's Day getaway - overall we definitely enjoyed ourselves. The room met all expectations. If we take another trip to Galena, we will definitely look for a room here again.

Pros: clean room, friendly staff, great jacuzzi tub, comfy bed.

Cons: breakfast could have been higher quality/more variety, didn't seem to have enough parking spaces, some folks were parking in the store lot next door.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in the theme room - "fishing lodge room". It was just perfect! Everything was very well appointed and the room comfort was terrific. The jacuzzi was near the fireplace and was in very good working order. The bed was comfortable and it was also very quiet. It definitely felt like a true "getaway". The staff is also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

For a quick weekend getaway, Stoney Creek Inn was exactly what my husband and I needed. Our room was clean and cozy. The hot tub area had a rustic feeling, and was quiet and intimate. The concierge was incredibly helpful and polite. Aside from thin walls and being able to occasionally hear other guests and children playing, our stay was peaceful. Even though it is not located in historic Galena, it is only a short drive to the downtown area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnaGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We decided to take the kids on an overnight to break up the routine of a snowy, cold winter. This hotel was great. we rented a room with bunkbeds for the kids, which they loved. It was a rustic, cabin feel. The pool area was excellent, water was a bit cool, but good none-the-less. The breakfast was good as well. plenty to choose from. The price was perfect. Great place to go if you just want to get-a-way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whtsox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great group of people working there....they were very hospitable and gracious. I just stayed one night, but was able to enjoy the pool and sauna. EVERYTHING was very clean. Breakfast was great. There isn't one thing bad to say about this place. The decor was fun with all the moose and golf clubs. Rustic yet very comfortable. I have always stayed downtown Galena, but from now on, this is where I will be staying.

Room Tip: I traveled with a friend. we booked a 2 double bed room right near the pool. it was nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $92 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing