We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

For a quick weekend getaway, Stoney Creek Inn was exactly what my husband and I needed. Our room was clean and cozy. The hot tub area had a rustic feeling, and was quiet and intimate. The concierge was incredibly helpful and polite. Aside from thin walls and being able to occasionally hear other guests and children playing, our stay was peaceful. Even though it is not located in historic Galena, it is only a short drive to the downtown area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnaGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 868 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We decided to take the kids on an overnight to break up the routine of a snowy, cold winter. This hotel was great. we rented a room with bunkbeds for the kids, which they loved. It was a rustic, cabin feel. The pool area was excellent, water was a bit cool, but good none-the-less. The breakfast was good as well. plenty to choose from. The price was perfect. Great place to go if you just want to get-a-way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whtsox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great group of people working there....they were very hospitable and gracious. I just stayed one night, but was able to enjoy the pool and sauna. EVERYTHING was very clean. Breakfast was great. There isn't one thing bad to say about this place. The decor was fun with all the moose and golf clubs. Rustic yet very comfortable. I have always stayed downtown Galena, but from now on, this is where I will be staying.

Room Tip: I traveled with a friend. we booked a 2 double bed room right near the pool. it was nice and quiet...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The place was very clean. The people were very nice. Stayed there 2 days. Employees were very hospitable. The breakfast was very good and the employee were always keeping up with upkeep of the area. Employees were always saying hello and is there anything u need. All that and the best prices in galena .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

From beginning to end everything was very good,Inn employees were all helpful,clean rooms,complimentary breakfasts had quite a few options,you could even make your own waffles.We were going to Galena for skiing the weather wasn't working out so well til Wednesday,but the Desk personnel were helpful on other options of things to do.Had no problems whatsoever.We were very happy with our stay,plan on skiing again,will choose Stoney again and may plan a mountain bike trip later this year also.Didn't use the pool area but will the next time everything in that area was very clean.Great place!

Room Tip: Room area was very quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I planned a getaway to Galena and by chance booked our room here! From the moment we walked in the door, everything was perfect! Kathy greeted us like it was her home and checked in with us after we settled in to make sure all was ok. Our room was larger than expected and comfortable clean and cozy. We were within minutes of downtown and enjoyed the spots recommended by the staff.

We spent a wonderful evening relaxing by our fireplace! We will definitely be back again. Our stay was wonderful!

Room Tip: Enjoy a theme room! A great value!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJKronsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Stoney Creek this past Thursday night. After the online 15% discount, we chose the King/whirlpool room for only $93/night. The front desk clerk was so sweet and caring. The hotel was very clean and decorated in lodge decor. The pool area was very nice, spacious and had a large hottub as well as sauna. The complementary breakfast was such also very nice with hot eggs/sausage as well as cold cereal, bagels, yogurt, etc. I thought that $93/night was a deal for this hotel and we will definately be back!

Room Tip: They have "theme rooms" which look very interesting, with french doors to enter and the on...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing