We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just love the Stoney Creek Inn in Galena and plan to come back again for the fourth year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Just love the Stoney Creek Inn in Galena and plan to come back again for the fourth year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

A great place in a great location. The staff was very accommodating. They made a themed whirlpool / fireplace suite into a dog friendly room complete with a crate, dishes and placemat, and even a gift bag for our Cocker Spaniel with treats and a rawhide. Plan on returning often for the great service and amenities!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamB3647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    202
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
175
384
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

When I first booked this hotel I did it because there was nothing else available in Galena. I was extremely skeptical and mentally prepared myself for very low expectations of my stay. Wow, was I wrong! We loved everything about this hotel. It was clean (huge criteria for me) and the staff was great! They did everything they could to make our stay very comfortable and fun. The only downside was that the beds were too soft. Other than that, I can definitely recommend it and will stay there on my next trip to Galena.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGibs0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We loved the hotel itself, so charming, so clean and a short drive to downtown shops. There are restaurants and a grocery store in the same location that are very easy to walk to. We had a king room with a sleeper sofa. The room and bed was great, however, the sleeper sofa was a disaster. The mattress was too thin and could feel the metal underneath, like sleeping with no cushioning at all. They should upgrade to a better mattress, if not have the corporate furniture buyer sleep on it for a couple of sleepless nights.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Everything about this hotel was awesome! Very nice clean rooms. Great ambiance throughout! And the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMPatton60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We drive in late in the evening hoping to find a place to stay in the Galena, Illinois area. We saw this hotel and liked it before we even entered the doors! It wasn't a plain, rectangular building- it has character! We walked in a found a very hospitable staff and a wonderful place to stay. Try it next time you're in historical Galena!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsonNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a couple’s weekend to Galena. I had planned initially to stay at the DeSoto house downtown, but waited too long and couldn’t get the room I wanted, so I decided to book our stay at Stony Creek Inn. For about the same price as the room at DeSoto, we stayed in one of their themed rooms(“Captain’s Quarters”), a large nicely appointed room with LCD TV, fireplace, 2-person whirlpool tub, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. The staff was very friendly, the hotel definitely had an interesting decor, and the room was quiet (except for the door -- see below). My wife appreciated the natural and/or organic toiletries supplied by the hotel. The hotel is located on the north end of town close to a McDonald’s and grocery store if you need anything quick, but is still only a few minutes from downtown. We decided to skip the breakfast provided by the hotel in favor of eating at a local restaurant, so I can't really comment on that.

Complaints? Very few, and only minor issues that did little to detract from our stay. The bathroom lights were over the sink with a vent light in the middle of the room, so the shower stall was a little dark. The door to our room was a double door that rattled when a neighbor’s door was opened or closed, making it sound like someone was trying to open our door. However, that only occurred a few times, and only early in the evening. If it would have happened later at night it would have been much more annoying. The couch faced away from the TV, making it difficult for us to watch TV together, but there was one chair and footstool placed in the middle of the room for watching TV; so I grabbed another from the desk to sit in.

None of the cons listed above were significant issues, so i we visit Galena in the future, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrLuckyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our visit was wonderful. Went to Galena for a couple days away and this hotel is a great place to settle in. Staff was friendly and anxious to offer suggestions on restaurants and places of interest. The morning breakfast buffet is large with hot food and a spacious dining room. Large convenient parking lot outside the door. Parking downtown is limited and tight. The deluxe king room was large and inviting. Everything is clean and spotless. The drive downtown is only a few short minutes and easy. You will not make a mistake with the Stoney Creek Inn. We would definately return and recommend to others. Thanks to the staff for the excellent recommendations on attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiataCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing