We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Zion
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Getaway”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I were on the last leg of our trip on our way back home to eastern Illinois from California, Made the reservation the night before at Stoney Creek. It looked like a nice place on the web site, it was in historic Galena, had a room with a Jacuzzi tub for two (a must as it was my wife's birthday) and an off-season price that was very attractive. We have never been more pleasantly surprised upon walking in our room. Outstanding accommodations - super comfortable bed, furnished in rustic furniture made from tree limbs, awesome Jacuzzi tub...can't say enough nice things. The staff and the common areas of the Inn were spectacular as well. What a great place!! Can't recommend this place high enough. It was the highlight of our trip and that includes the accommodations we had in Las Vegas. Would absolutely stay there again and we will on our next trip.

Room Tip: Themed rooms are the way to go. Larger rooms, Jacuzzis, all the perks at a very reasonable price...e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    209
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
181
396
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice Deluxe King room. Bed was comfortable. TV with multiple stations. We did not try the breakfast which is included in the cost of the room. Easy parking. Location is a little ways from Main Street, but fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

JoAnne was fabulous. She remembered me from our phone reservation, and was very knowledgeable about the area. Room was perfect, clean, updated. Breakfast was 4 out of 5... Who eats biscuits and gravy any more??? Lol .....I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmahairas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Front desk extremely helpful and friendly! Thank you Joanne. Room was perfect, bathroom emmaculate. We used the pool and hot-tub, both were very clean, well maintained. Plenty of towels on hand. King sized bed was great, very comfortable. Hotel was quiet, clean and convienent for our stay. Free breakfast in the morning was awesome. Make your own waffles, plus biscuits and gravy, coffee, juices, cereals, bagels were all fresh, tasted great. Check out was simple and quick, front desk very friendly. You halped make our visit to Galena special. Thank you Stoney Creek Inn. We will definitely stay at your hotel again and will highly recommend Stoney Creek Inn to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room #4, king sized bed, lower level... very quiet! There are only a few rooms on the lower l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had an awesome time here at Stoney Creek Inn ! First of all, when we got here we found out we were"Guest of the Week" and got an upgrade to the Bear Essentials Suite which sure was a plus ! What a nice surprise, but im sure we would have enjoyed our stay no matter what. The hotel was exceptionally clean and both of us clean for a living so we know clean . The decor was awesome with the outdoors woodsy themes. The staff was very friendly and helpful and polite. This a very inviting hotel and what ever your doing,keep it up ! Will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great trip to Galena. This is such a beautiful town. This was a great stay. The hotel was clean and in a great location. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We will stay here again when we go to Galena.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were thrilled with our stay here! The entire staff was so helpful, pleasant, and fun. We came to Galena to be married and stayed to honeymoon a few days. The staff was so excited and gave us recommendations on great places to eat and have wine tastings! Our suite was wonderful! Clean, spacious, great to have fridge/microwave for all of our leftovers from our great meals. Gorgeous fireplaced lobby and large pool area. We will definitely be back and will recommend this location to all of our friends!!! Thanks you for the great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenrp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing