We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as expected”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Monclova, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just as expected”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My first visit to Galena and where to stay. Since this was a business trip I skipped the local B&B's and elected to stay somewhere a little more mainstream. Stoney Creek Inn fit the bill. Clean, secure and a friendly staff. The rooms are your typical chain hotel in size and layout, but the finishes are above average. The bath was especially nice and included higher end soaps and such. The hot water was sufficient and I really appreciate the shower head that isn't super low flow! The property is adjacent to a small strip mall anchored by a large grocery. There is also a McDonald's nearby and decent (3 out of 5 stars) Mexican restaurant in the strip mall. Very convenient to Downtown Galena.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
404
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterset, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel is a great find in Galena. The service is top notch, rooms are spotless as well as common areas. The staff is very helpful. Great stay!

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so you might want to request lower level if this is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here based on the positive reviews. We were really looking for a fun weekend trip to celebrate our anniversary. Unfortunately my husband and I weren't impressed. After waiting 10 minutes to check in (yes, we rang the bell) we were checked in. There was another couple that walked in just behind us that also had to wait for service. We stayed in a 1-bedroom premium suite. Quality of the room was OK. There was dirt on the floor in the bathroom. The main floor lamp was broken (fixture hanging off - a safety issue). Bed pillows were flat. The hotel is very near the main road in town - there was a lot of engine braking from the semis and our room was at the closest end towards the street. This was not a quiet room. We did bring the light issue up as we checked out.... clerk said "sorry" but who knows whether this will be fixed. For the amount paid for the premium room- definitely not worth it. Sadly disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 62 - very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGB04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President, Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear MGB04,
I too am sadly disappointed with your experience. Our goal for every guest is to exceed their expectations and we certainly failed on your visit to even meet them. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to extend our sincere apologies. As you could tell by the previous reviews you mentioned, this, fortunately for us, is not the norm. I assure you the floor cleanliness issue has been addressed and the lamp has been repaired. Thank you for sharing your concerns, since that is one way we can discover needs for improvement. PS If your Trip Advisor name means you own an MGB, my family and I enjoy a 1979 version of same. two at a time, of course. Again, our apologies and a wish for safe future travels. Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here on a three day trip to Galena...a quick three day 20th anniversary get away. I really liked the place and the staff were friendly. Loved the themed room, even if it wasn't the one we'd reserved...it was tastefully done, very spacious and more importantly? CLEAN! We plan on going back early in Spring and we will be staying here again. Only thing I'd change? The bed. It was awful....wish they'd upgrade to something a little more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the themed rooms....the whirlpools are roomy enough for two and after hoofing it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidtears2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife & I celebrated our anniversary by getting away to the luminaria event in Galena. I booked the Stoney Creek Inn for the night of 12/17 based on mostly positive reviews and a great rate. We couldn't have been more pleased. The staff went the extra mile giving directions and chatting up the customers. They made all the difference. A previous reviewer mentioned the sauna and weightroom in disrepair. Both were working when we were there. It's true the workout facility is small but the pool, hot tub, sauna, breakfast area, and bar were all fine. We didn't see anyone else use the workout facility so it may be less of an issue for the typical Galena crowd. Overall, a terrific value.

Room Tip: We stayed near the lobby but noise was minimal. Apparently the walls and insulation is thick enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had a very nice time at this establishment. The staff were very friendly. The fireplace room was spacious, clean and had very charming decor. The pool area and whirlpool were fantastic. There was however one glaring disappointment. The facility lists a fitness center as an amenity. Frankly, this borders on false advertising. The alleged "fitness center" was in reality a tiny room consisting of 1 treadmill, and 1 outdated all-in-one weight machine that was out of order. So, while my husband and I brought workout gear expecting to be able to continue our exercise routine, instead we had several days of no exercise as we had no interest in using this poor excuse for a fitness center. We still had a lovely time, but would not return for this reason. Also, the sauna was not working. If not for this, we would have included this facility as one of our regular lodging choices.

Room Tip: Fireplace room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jukie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President, Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Jukie,
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment in our workout equipment and sauna. We are in the process of upgrading them, which, of course, doesn’t change your experience. I do not have an exact timeline on when that upgrade will take place, but I hope you check back with us the next time you’re in our neighborhood, just in case. Thank you for sharing your concerns and thank you for giving us an opportunity to host your visit. Jack King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The front desk {Eva } was friendly and efficient checking us in .Our room was cozy and spotless.

It is clear that management is on top of everything.

We stayed there on 11/29/2011

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domerdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing