We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Plus”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband and I love this hotel. It's feels more like a cozy retreat than a hotel. The staff is super friendly and the accommodations are exceptional. The free breakfast surpasses anyone's expectations. It's a great place to stay when you're visiting Galena.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starbeck90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Stoney Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 868 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel is extremely clean. The housekeeping staff should be recognized for their hard work here because the rooms, hallways, breakfast area and lobby all were very well kept and the property as a whole seemed well-maintained. I had a double-queen room which was small but nice. The decor was very cute. There were some nice little touches in the room like the hair dryer also had a night light built into the handle which was helpful. The bathroom toiletries included makeup remover towelettes and there were plenty of towels. My only criticisms are the television could use an update to a flat-screen as it was an older model, there was no full-length mirror and the parking did not seem sufficient for the property.

Room Tip: My friends stayed in room 82 which had a common hallway entry with room 83 with a secure outer door...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Rustic atmosphere as in a log cabin but comfortable. Heated indoor pool and hot tub. Seemed to be near downtown Galena but you have to drive to go out on main street. They make a big hype about the environment and want to "save the planet". But with each breakfast they produce big amounts of plastic trash. That's not acceptable. Why can't they use cutlery, mugs and plates? Is it so difficult to clean some dishes after breakfast? Anyway: all in all a good place to stay for a reasonable price and visit charming Galena. Because of the good experience with the rooms we decided to stay in another new Stoney Creek Inn at Sioux City which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Clean rooms were what we expected. Breakfast adquite. could use 1 more walffel maker.Staff friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed two nights in October for a getaway weekend. The hotel is very close to the Galena historic district but not nearly as pricey as the hotels and B&B's on and near Main Street. The hotel was very clean and very nicely decorated with a "woodsy" theme. We stayed in one of the standard rooms but it was beautiful and very nicely furnished. The hotel has 2 floors without an elevator but the staff is more than willing to carry luggage upstairs for anyone who needs help. The breakfast was reasonably good for being free. There is a swimming pool and a small lounge/bar that we did not get around to visiting but both looked nice. The free internet service worked great. We would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Galena.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We chose Stoney Creek to begin our honeymoon in Galena and were very happy with our choice. It was quiet and cozy. We chose a room with a whirlpool and it was wonderful. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Our best experience from the staff there was the call the day after we checked out about me leaving my Ereader in my room. I was petrified. I said I could swing back by and pick it up but I had mentioned the bed and breakfast we were staying at in Gelena and the woman at the counter (I'm horrible with names, sorry.) said she would drive by on her way home and would drop it off there for us. That is above and beyond customer service. Most places charge you to ship you things or they only hold for so long, so for her to drive to another plce and drop it off was truly special. We will definitely return to Stoney Creek and we will tell all of our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Greeted warmly by Sean and later Joann who genuinely wanted us to have a wonderful experience. The inn is decorated rustically and maintained beautifully. Extremely clean. In the three years that we have been coming to Galena we found this to be just the best!

We look forward to returning and would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone and everyone who enjoys a quiet stay, a short drive from downtown Galena, a knowledgeable staff who brings a pleasantness to your home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.4 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $97 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing