We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a great expierience”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Addison IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overall a great expierience”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Clean rooms were what we expected. Breakfast adquite. could use 1 more walffel maker.Staff friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    215
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
187
404
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed two nights in October for a getaway weekend. The hotel is very close to the Galena historic district but not nearly as pricey as the hotels and B&B's on and near Main Street. The hotel was very clean and very nicely decorated with a "woodsy" theme. We stayed in one of the standard rooms but it was beautiful and very nicely furnished. The hotel has 2 floors without an elevator but the staff is more than willing to carry luggage upstairs for anyone who needs help. The breakfast was reasonably good for being free. There is a swimming pool and a small lounge/bar that we did not get around to visiting but both looked nice. The free internet service worked great. We would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Galena.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We chose Stoney Creek to begin our honeymoon in Galena and were very happy with our choice. It was quiet and cozy. We chose a room with a whirlpool and it was wonderful. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Our best experience from the staff there was the call the day after we checked out about me leaving my Ereader in my room. I was petrified. I said I could swing back by and pick it up but I had mentioned the bed and breakfast we were staying at in Gelena and the woman at the counter (I'm horrible with names, sorry.) said she would drive by on her way home and would drop it off there for us. That is above and beyond customer service. Most places charge you to ship you things or they only hold for so long, so for her to drive to another plce and drop it off was truly special. We will definitely return to Stoney Creek and we will tell all of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Greeted warmly by Sean and later Joann who genuinely wanted us to have a wonderful experience. The inn is decorated rustically and maintained beautifully. Extremely clean. In the three years that we have been coming to Galena we found this to be just the best!

We look forward to returning and would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone and everyone who enjoys a quiet stay, a short drive from downtown Galena, a knowledgeable staff who brings a pleasantness to your home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked a room on Oct. 29....they were the only hotel in town (that I'm aware of) that would let you book a room for one night....everyone else requires a 2 night (weekend) stay during the month of October. It was perfect! The Halloween parade downtown was that night....and they even had a bus to pick you up at the hotel instead of fighting traffic. And it got even better.....the bus was from "Fried Green Tomatoes"....and I had reservations there as well! So it dropped us off in front of F.G.T. and then came back for us later. It was awesome!
The hotel had great beds....very clean...and had a nice breakfast. Will definately will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskitty033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a nice little hotel that is comfortable, and close to Galena & Dubuque. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago - USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

An outstanding property in many ways. Great location...excellent value...exceptionally clean and well maintained. We've been coming to Galena for years and have split our time between B&B's, Eagle Ridge lodge rooms and rental homes, and the famous Irish hotel. This year we were surprised that our usual selections were sold out - or had priced themselves out of our consideration. We booked Stoney Creek and held our breath. The price was so reasonable that we were apprehensive. After our long drive from Chicago, we were more than surprised when we pulled into the parking lot. We were smiling from ear-to-ear when we walked into the cozy lobby that greeted us with a roaring fireplace. The staff was exceptionally friendly and welcoming. They pointed out the breakfast room (free FULL breakfasts daily), the swimming pool, the bar and gift shop. All those amenitites were wonderful, and the "northwoods" decor was refreshing. Every nook and cranny was decorated to present the illusion of being in northern Wisconsin or Colorado. There is no doubt that we will return. It needs to be stated again that the staff is as important to a pleasant stay as the real estate, and in this case they complimented each other perfectly. The rooms were large and well equipped with microwave - fridge - iron - hair dryer - coffee maker and bedding that was incredibly comfortable. A++ is a grade that is well earned and deserved. My only comment of a needed upgrade is the need for more ice machines. This is a fairly large property and the ONLY ice machine was waaaaaaay back by the lobby. There are plenty of places for more ice machines. The long walk for ice was kind of a bummer.

Room Tip: Deluxe King rooms are like mini-suites. Luxury amenities and exceptionally comfortable bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpsidedownFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing