We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and Upgrades”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“Wonderful service and Upgrades”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Upon our 1st stay, we were welcomed by a staff that catered to our needs. We got the opportunity to meet the general manager, Dena, who was most gracious and answered all our questions and responded rapidly with any problems we encountered. A very personable and professional woman, she took the time to treat us with dignity and grace. Upon our departure, she suggested joining their frequent travelers program. When told we would sign-up online, her and Eva insisted they do it then and there for us, as we would earn upgrades immediately upon our next check in to the hotel.

Seeing as how the rooms were immaculate, the staff accommadating, and housekeeping was always available for all the extras, we decide to rebook another 4 day mini vacation a month later.

Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to the next room level due to our frequent travler program. When a room change every night was required to meet this criteria, we spoke to Dena if anything could be done to alleviate this problem. She shuffled room reservations, upgraded us to even a higher room level than was expected, and moved us directly across the hall to a suite, where we remained till check out.

Eva, Theresa, Anthony, and Laura Lee were engaging and professional desk clerks/night managers. We enjoyed all the ammenities, including the pool area and front porch. Although a non smoking hotel, there were easily accesible areas that afforded this opportunity for us.

We certainly will rebook there again.

Room Tip: Join the frequent travelers upon arrival, ask for Dena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLawrence57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    209
    47
    22
    12
See reviews for
181
397
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

this is the place I stay when I go to Galena. It is clean, Quiet and affordable. They have a breakfast
and coffee in the morning. The most affordable in Galena. Staff is helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanschisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in one of the sweet rooms. It was nice staying in a hotel that doesn't have your typical decor. Enjoyed the whirlpool tub and fireplace. Excellent rate for a sweet room compared to other hotels/BB in the area that we had reserched. Only wished the bed was newer and a little more comfortable.(it sagged a little in center.) Did have a selection of different types of pillows on our bed! The staff was pleasant and helpful. Would and probably will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was a wonderful facility - clean, friendly, interesting decor throughout the facility, including the pool and breakfast areas. Rates were reasonable and the coupon we received for dinner in town was a pleasant surprise! The breakfast choices were more numerous than most motels offer - and the area was clean and roomy. Close to the town of Galena.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxsmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We all liked our stay at Stoney Creek. It's decorated with woodsy knick knacks and golf themes. It's homey- they even put a stuffed animal on the bed. Although we didn't use the pool this time- we enjoyed it on previous visits. It's a short drive from downtown Galena. The free breakfast is typical continental- lots of carbs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandk137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We went to Stoney Creek in for a family reunion. There were 41 of us total. We can be boisterous when we are gathered together as a group. The staff at Stoney Creek was just great They let us take over the bar area one night so we'd have a place to get together and not bother the other customers. Dena, the manager, spent lots and lots and LOTS of time taking group photos of the family. The room we had was very comfortable. Being with a group, we got to see many rooms, and it is really clever how each room is slightly different, with golf and fishing themes seeming to be the most prevalent. The breakfast was great, and there was always something hot to go along with the cereal and bagels. It was a clean, comfortable, affordable room, but the staff was the real high point of our stay. It's lovely to get a small town feel with such professional service at the same time. We have a timeshare in the area, but I'd rather pay to stay at Stoney Creek. Such a good time....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohforchristsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldena, IL
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We came to celebrate our anniversary.
Eva checked us in -
We were very pleased with our stay from the very start by cheking in.
We were celebrating our anniversary and appreciated the gift certificate
for the restaurant of our choice.
The room was very clean.
And we just really appreciated our stay there and wanted you to know!
Thank you,
John and Glenda Kalebaugh

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jginhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing