We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay. Very hospitable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Sherrard, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice place to stay. Very hospitable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I read some reviews about Stoney creek, and decided to make my own decision. We went to galena for our 15th wedding anniversary. We decided to try out Stoney Creek. Price was very reasonable. The room was 83 dollars, and came with a complimentary breakfast. On top of that they gave us a 20 dollar giftcertificate. We could use that at one of the restaurants on their list. I would like to give a big thanks to I believe her name is Theresa. She politely checked us in. She also put Happy Anniversary to my wife and me on a small marquy that was just in the door. VERY NICE PLACE. AND GREAT PRICE. WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyleschnowske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    204
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
176
387
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

The staff was so nice and respectful. They golf/cabin feel was to cute. There chairs in there rooms are sooo comfy. So nice and clean. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvis, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We've stayed here several times and look forward to coming back. It has everything we needed and very good for young children. Everything is clean including the pool area. The dining room is clean and the breakfast food is good. The staff are very nice and accommodating. Also, my husband left his Kindle behind in the room. When we returned home to the Quad Cities, I called and asked that they look for it when they cleaned. They did find it for us and sent it to us, along with a coupon to use for future stays and a kind note from Dena Fairbanks. We were so happy to get his Kindle back, and I applaud them for their honesty. Needless to say, we shall be back!

Kathy Cramblett

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy36704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Lions Club held a reception at Stoney Creek Inn the evening before our District Convention. The staff went above and beyond in helping us set up, decorate and work with caterers. We enjoyed working with them so much, we asked them to join us at the reception, which they did. It felt like we were in someone's warm home rather than a hotel. Thank you Dina, Chris and everyone at Stoney Creek Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalenaOktoberfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our 5th or 6th visit to Galena but our first try at Stoney Creek Inn. We decided to stay because of a great deal they were having thru a travel booking site so I checked out SC online and the pictures were nice and they had SOOOOO many stellar reviews. Now I can join all those other travellers in raving about this really cool, super nice, super clean hotel. The decor is northwoods meets golf which I didn't really "get" but they somehow make it work lol. The indoor pool/whirlpool area is awesome and the water in the pool was sooooo nice and warm just like getting in the tub lol. We stayed in a standard king room and ok it was a little small but ohhh soooo nice! Loved the bathroom and water worked great warm water was warm like right now which I always check lol. And again the decor very detailed-u can tell someone paid a lot of attention to making sure the entire hotel was warm and inviting. Room was VERY quiet - LOVED not hearing our neighbors. Was expecting a big breakfast buffet from what I read in several reviews but it was just ur very basic continental b'fast. But all in all, Loved it there and know this is our hotel for all of our future visits to Galena!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Stoney Creek Inn on a mid week road trip to the Galena area. This was our first visit. We arrived in Galena and the weather was cold rainy and even had hail and we were not in a mood to shop in the cold drizzle! But after checking in at Stoney Creek our entire attitude changed. My husband reserved a themed room. We had the Northern Exposure Suite. It was charming. A wonderful, comforatble king bed, a wooded dining bar in a kitchen area with a sink, microwave and refrigerator, a sitting area in front of a warm gas fireplace and a two person whirlpool tub. We joked that we could live there for the rest of our lives as it had everything we needed ( but a stove). We warmed ourselves in front of the fire and took a wonderful nap on the comfortable bed. After a fun night of gambling at Mystique we returned to enjoy a dip in the tub with plenty of room for two!. After a great nights sleep we enjoyed the breakfast that is included. They had hot scrambled eggs and sausage along with other continental breakfast fair. The coffee and juice were excellent. The staff was exceptionally professional and friendly. We did not enjoy the pool area on this visit as our stay was only one night but we hope to visit the Stoney Creek Inn again soon and we have recommended it to our friends and family! The location is great- right on 20 with access to shopping and an easy drive to downtown Galena or Dubuque!

Room Tip: Be sure to enjoy a suite. Rates are Reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotHeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Great place to stay in Galena. Lodge setting with all the comforts of home. Nice pool and clean rooms. Try the suite sometime really a treat. First class service from manager and front desk personnel

Room Tip: Call ahead of time for suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Property: Stoney Creek Inn
Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing