We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Irish Hollow
Ranked #9 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My hubby and I were looking to do something fun and different for our 18th anniversary in August. We decided to go with a B&B , and since we both love Galena, I found Irish Hollow thanks to Google and boy am I glad I did.

We were amazed beyond words when we got there, it was so much off the beaten path and the setting looks like something out of a picture postcard, the weather was perfect, the inn was perfect, our room was cozy and done beautifully, the champagne, the flowers, the chocolates, the breakfast every morning, the 7 course dinner, it was just the most superlative of experiences.

We stayed at The Shopkeeper's Suite in the Inn, it was so "old timey" and beautiful. I'm actually torn if we will take this same room if available for our next visit or a cottage. We got some hiking done and even had Molly, the inn's cat come along during our hikes, it was so cute how she kept step with us all the way. The couple's massage was one of the most relaxing massages I have had and am not stranger to massages.

Matthew & Tony were so helpful in answering all our questions , and there was absolutely no issue with adapting the food to my hubby's dietary habits ( he is a vegetarian ).

This has to be one of the nicest anniversaries we have had so much so that we will be going back in November and probably many many times after that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sai_Shiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 302 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Matthew greeted us in the driveway in 100 degree weather and immediately offered us cold drinks and an upgrade to our accomodations. That and his mentioning that my gluten free Diet was not a problem would have been sufficient to make me happy. Add a beautiful setting, a shower with eight shower heads, delicious breakfasts and a 5 course dinner brought to our cottage and we were ready to stay forever!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was a wonderful experience! When we arrived we had booked a room, but Russell, our innkeeper, said "good news, we are upgrading you to one of our cottages. The cottage was breathtaking. Such attention to detail. My wife and I were simply amazed. The amount of detail that went into the decorating was incredible. We then had an incredible breakfast. The next evening we experienced a seven course dinner that was out of this world. This is one of the best travel experiences we have ever had, probably the most relaxing too. I would highly recommend this and we are definitely going back in the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. The setting is beautiful. We stayed two nights at a room in the inn. I must say I was a bit disappointed. We started with the couples massage which we normally love - not worth it because the room was not private enough and they were too rough (even after being asked twice not to be). The bedroom was pretty, but it was way too hot at night and who are you going to call in the middle of the night at a bed and breakfast for a fan? The bath/shower was way too tiny for my husband. The food was fantastic!! However, they had an ant problem - not pleasant when you are eating a candle-lit dinner. I did mention the ant issue, and they were working on it. Matthew was very nice and helpful! The cabins seemed very nice.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 03mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Our guests are the reason that we started Irish Hollow 22 years ago, and continue to work toward excellence today. At Irish Hollow, we strive to far exceed the comfort expectations of each of our guests, while providing a wonderfully unique escape from daily reality, and a palette pleasing culinary adventure in a secluded, (and wooded) countryside setting. When we fall short of that goal, we need to evaluate our systems and procedures. We have addressed each of the issues brought forth by this post.

Our BodyWorks team will add several questions to their pre-treatment interview to ensure the proper customizing of treatment. We will also be more careful to mention to each visitor that we always have a staff member awaiting their every request, 24 HOURS each day, and welcome the opportunity to enhance our guests experience at every moment.

Here at Irish Hollow, it is YOUR experience that matters and we endeavor to resolve any concern that is brought to our attention in the moment, to ensure that each of our guests is more than satisfied. We want all of our guests to consider Irish Hollow their own personal and carefree hideaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

First time at a bed and breakfast and I must say I was very pleased with the decor, service, food, and location of Irish Hollow. We have already booked our stay for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerelmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Over the years, we have visited several B&B's in the U.S. and in Ireland. The Inn at Irish Hollow was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed! The cottage was beyond gorgeous. The owners had thought of every possible need and provided for it! The service overall was out of this world! Matthew was just fantastic, answering questions and going out of his way to welcome and serve. The grounds are very peaceful and beautifully maintained. ....And the food is scrumptious. The 3 breakfasts and dinner we had while there were SO amazing. If they do print a cookbook, we'll be in line to purchase one. Everything about our stay was above and beyond our expectations! We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The Station House Cottage was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandh7170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Gourmet food and quiet comfortable cotTages in the woods

Room Tip: Staying at one of the Cottages and had an excellent gourmet dinner here tonight. So far everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
9.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
8.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
224 reviews
4 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
556 reviews
8.2 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,362 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irish Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irish Hollow

Address: 2800 S Irish Hollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9482
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $395 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 500 acres of magnificent rolling hillsides and valleys, the Inn offers a perfect setting to reconnect with one another and to be pampered in the heart of Galena’s picture-perfect countryside. Guests enjoy personalized comfort, superb hospitality and the lush amenities designed to thrill sophisticated travelers. The 500 acre estate is cut with miles of hiking trails, streams, wooded ridges and connects to a 1300 acre nature preserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irish Hollow Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing