We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Irish Hollow
Ranked #9 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blissful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

From the moment you open the door to any of the cottages at the Inn at Irish Hollow your senses are overwhelmed with the feeling of complete luxury and comfort. The staff has painstakingly decorated the cottages with the sole intention of making guests feel comfort and restfulness. The Gardener's Cottage epitomizes serenity and comfort - from the gorgeous furnishings to the screened porch with views of the gazebo and woods. We woke to a Spring rain shower and I decided that this is the ONLY place on earth that I wouldn't mind looking out the window and seeing rain. Matthew and the entire staff of Irish Hollow should be commended. Not to mention the AMAZING breakfast, served in your cottage if you desire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtist104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
225
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Just returned from a 2-night stay at The Inn at Irish Hollow with a longtime friend. We stayed in the main house and had a wonderful experience all around. Matthew, the Innkeeper, did everything in his power to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were amazing and delicious. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and the surroundings were just lovely. Have stayed in many B&B's all over the country and this ranks as one of the very best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melitavickter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LISLE, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

After three trips to Irish Hollow over the years, we wanted to have our wedding in Galena. But we still knew, that even with the wedding in the town, we would spend our weekend and wedding night at Irish Hollow. A romantic and truly quiet country setting, with food and decor that is wonderful. The staff is always most attentive to every detail, and didn''t miss a thing. All we heard the whole weekend from the family and friends that stayed there with us was "how did you ever find this place?" and "this is amazing!"

Room Tip: The stonewood cottage is our favorite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPKOPP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Inn at Irish Hollow is truly one of earth's special places. Part resort, part escape, part country farmhouse, but all luxury and special attention to detail. While at the Inn at Irish Hollow you will enjoy unmatched guest services, incredible gourmet breakfasts, miles of hiking trails, thousands of ever changing flowers and outstanding accommodations. The list goes on and on. Truly a getaway you will never forget and never want to leave.

Room Tip: We chose the Stonewood. All cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismMarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

If you are looking for a place to just get away from the busyness of life, this is the place. The inn, rooms and breakfast were exceptional. The beds are as comfortable as anything you will ever sleep on. The only down side for us was the seven course meal. Too many courses and the main course was very under impressive. The meat was dry and the vegetable was drenched in lemon. Finally the staff was very nice and very accomidating. The price for us was a good value. Lastly, the wineries in the area were nice to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtraxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We travel alot and were not sure what to expect going to Galena. We were looking to simply get away, read and relax. The Inn afforded us the opportunity to do in a great setting with a lovely private cottage. March is not the pretiiest of times but even with the cold and barren woods we found it to be lovely~we will definetly go back in the Fall or Summer. The breakfasts and dinner were great, plentiful and gourmet. The cottage was spacious and we had everything we needed. We highly recommend The Inn at Irish Hollow.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMoTMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had the most amazing weekend at this magical place. No detail was overlooked in
the accommodations or cuisine. This is a place to return to time after time.
Mathew is very helpful and adds to the experience of such a splendid place.

Gloria and Giovanni

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gloria485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
10.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
9.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
8.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irish Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irish Hollow

Property: The Inn at Irish Hollow
Address: 2800 S Irish Hollow Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9482
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 500 acres of magnificent rolling hillsides and valleys, the Inn offers a perfect setting to reconnect with one another and to be pampered in the heart of Galena’s picture-perfect countryside. Guests enjoy personalized comfort, superb hospitality and the lush amenities designed to thrill sophisticated travelers. The 500 acre estate is cut with miles of hiking trails, streams, wooded ridges and connects to a 1300 acre nature preserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irish Hollow Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing