We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food!”

Procento's Pizzeria
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had read the reviews on trip advisor and a friend's son says the pizza here is amazing..so I decided it was time to try this place out...The place is a small quaint place and it smelled awesome..so i was excited..My boyfriend and I were seated but I was quickly turned off by the poor service...we were seated with no menus...sat for 5 min..it appeared the owner was sitting next to us with a group celebrating a birthday...he told one of the waitresses to get us a menu and service..he must of heard me complaining as the seats are very close together...we then got a waiter who was ok..placed our order..i had a salad that came with my meal and upon eating it..out of nowhere all these pesky gnats were flying around us..so i was turned off by that. I had ordered there manicotti and my boyfriend got the meatball sandwich...my manicotti made up for the bad service..it was fabulous..came with garlic bread and salad. We both agreed the food was very good. Our waiter forgot to take the gift certificate I had off the bill as well. I would go back to try their pizza, all they need to do is improve their customer service. Overall not a bad place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    79
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go to Procento's!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Off the Main Street and set in a small place down a few stairs is Procento's Italian restaurant. Excellent service, very reasonable prices, clean and bright, great menu of choices, and wonderful double decker pizza! And the dessert tray is quite fabulous too! We loved our dinner there! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, IL.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not every restaurant in Galena is open on Monday and, frankly, this wasn't our destination when we left the hotel but we were more than happy with what we found here. The menu has some creative choices, servings are ample and the service is very friendly. On a side street downtown but worth the walk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Getting the best is easy”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just stop in to Procentos,
Jack Edens, owner and his family are the real deal. I've always enjoyed their Pizza and though that's what I wanted for lunch, I simply didn't have the time so I ordered and Italian Beef sandwich.
A lot of restaurants and lunch counters offer the Italian Beef but whatever Jack does to his season his beef must be a family secret. Simply awesome and delicious. On a fresh baked Italian Roll, layers upon layers of tender roast beef piled high with a cup of Au Jus on the side it was just perfect. Especially the Au jus which was seasoned just right and not too salty.

Now I have a new favorite

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Owned Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Can't say enough great things about this restaurant. We have been known to drive 2-1/2 to 3 hours just to eat here and drive back home. The pizza is outstanding...all the Italian dishes we've tried are awesome. Want authentic traditional homemade Italian food, make it a point to stop here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntiqueDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Procento's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing