We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantasy suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantasy suites”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

we have stayed in the fantasy suites at the Best Western in Galena Ill. twice now and enjoyed every moment. the Heart romance suite is very fun with its heart shaped whirlpool. the suites have decks that open to wooded landscapes. we saw deer one night. and listened to birds in the morning over coffee. love going here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    173
    59
    30
    16
See reviews for
120
313
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We came to Galena for a girls weekend and wanted some of that time to include lounging outside by a pool. very few hotels include outside pools. so that was a bonus. the room was very large and comfortable with a small balcony (ours overlooked the woods and was very peaceful) breakfast wasn't great but pretty standard for free hotel breakfast. friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Melina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We've stayed here the last couple of times we've gone to Galena. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are large, very clean (we stay in a room with a king size bed), and the location is close to everything. The price is very reasonable compared to many other places in Galena.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Roman Palace suite, the room was great. Awesome hot tub, shower, nice bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself could use some tlc, the parking lot needs to be refinishied, the decks outside the room are nice but need cleaned, ours had a huge wasp nest on the lower part of the deck above. The outside could also use some painting. The price of the room was great for a tourist town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Duce97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The Best Western chain in general is trying to move more upscale in the hotel market and this location is even a bit nicer than most Best Westerns.
The standard room I stayed in had a couch, a patio with chairs, a desk, and a queen size bed. This was a second-floor room; there is a also a ground floor and a basement floor alongside an indoor pool.
Breakfast was a hot meal, and something different was served every day.
This location was close enough to downtown Galena to be convenient, but a little too far to walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I just got home from a 2-night stay at the Best Western Designer Inn and Suites in Galena,IL. It was SO nice! I was able to check at 3:00 (many hotels don't have check in until 4). I was given a clean, very large room with 2 queen sized beds, flat screen TV and a sitting area with 2 chairs and a sofa. There was also a small balcony off the back of the room. The A/C could be set to a cold setting, which I prefer. The bed was comfortable with loads of pillows. The bathroom was spotless, from the floors to the shower curtain. The breakfast both mornings was more than adequate. I didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that.
The Best Western is close to Grant's Home and is only a 5 minute drive from downtown Galena. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is in a decent location being a short drive to town and to Ulysses Grants home. Situated on the the main Road makes the hotel easy to find but can also lead to the front rooms being a little noisy at times for a light sleeper. I tried walking in to town but there seems to be a lack of pavements (sidewalks) which is not so odd in the US but can be a little tricky on a busy road. Lots of parking for cars and free of charge. The room was decent size with usual inclusions such as WiFi, our room was out the back with a balcony and a peaceful view of some trees. Typical Best Western breakfast but no other on-site food available. We made the mistake of going to the Irish pub nearby but this was not the best option as there are much better eats in town. Over all not bad at all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Telemachus_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Hills Motel
Grant Hills Motel
#10 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Designer Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing