We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$209
$146
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$99
The Irish Cottage
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
361
211
74
34
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
211
74
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal cavefantasy suitethe indoor outdoor poolcave roombalcony overlookinghearts delightwooded areano elevatornice breakfastclose to downtownlarge roomhot breakfasthot tubgrant's homewould stay here againgalena ilbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 700 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My daughter, her dog, and I were looking for a place to get a quick get away outside of Chicago for part of the Thanksgiving weekend. We choose Galena. The problem was finding a hotel/motel that would be comfortable for us and allow our small dog to stay as well. We choose the Best Western Designer Inn in Galena, and I am so glad that we did. The front desk was very welcoming and friendly. We were allowed to leave the dog in the room for a short trip to the hot tube and pool and again when we went out to dinner. The only requirements were that we put the do not disturb sign in the door lock and that we provide our cell phone number in case the dog barked.
The staff went out of the way to welcome us, give us tips on places we could visit with the dog.
The dogs were allowed to walk through the lobby while on a leash. This created a very friendly atmosphere with families as guests asked about the dog and if she could be petted.
As for the rooms, they were great, The beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was a typical brunch with many items to choose from.

Room Tip: They have a wide variety of rooms. The room with two queen beds and a sofa bed was large and comfortable. They also have rooms with whirlpool baths.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MerryTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A real surprise, a very nice room with a very comfortable bed, the 2 person hottub was great also, plenty of hot water and a clean room. Everything worked fine including the fireplace, only negative design wise is it seems weird to have mirrors surround the fireplace, would rather see brick or plain wall. Also one of the closest hotels to downtown Galena and very easy to find on Rt 20 less than a mile east of Galena.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a romantic weekend getaway and many of the B&B's were full or too costly. The whirlpool in room was very large (even more so than when in Mexico). Very nice room with king bed and whirlpool bedside. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast was served hot and fresh. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Will most definately do this again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. The staff is excellent, the rooms are great, the Internet works well, and this hotel is a great place to stay when visiting the Galena area. THe manager, Amy, makes sure that everything is just perfect at this hotel. The rooms have good televisions with HD service, good lighting, refrigerators, microwave ovens, good shower heads, and everything that you would want to have in your room if you were traveling. Galena is a great city to visit, as they have very quaint shops, good resturaunts, and friendly people all over.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Ira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visiting a place like Galena, I was looking for a nice place to stay that had quaint and comfortable amenities and features. I certainly found that at the Best Western Designer Inn & Suites. I was impressed at how clean and cozy the foyer is. The front desk attendant was so welcoming and she asked what brought us into town and even gave us some recommendations on things to do. The room was really (surprisingly) big and yet had cute features that made it fit into the overall "Galena" feeling - such as a sewing stand that doubled as the TV stand, old ceramic milk jug lanterns and even a patio off of our room with a few of the woods! We decided to be adventurous and walk from the hotel to the main shopping area and it was a nice 10-15 walk. In the evening, we enjoyed a drink at the Irish pub next to the hotel. I was very happy with my stay and will definitely look to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyD_Triplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews