We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Frontier!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Warks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On the Frontier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are from England and used this hotel half way through our Mid West Prairie tour. We stayed two nights in the "North West Frontier" suite! The room had a four poster bed in a log cabin - well it is nice to dream. We wanted to see the historical sites of Galena, a fascinating early 19C mining centre plus also Ulysses S Grant's home. We were impressed both with the town and the hotel. At $100 per night it was the most expensive hotel that we had stayed at on our tour but very good value and amenities (certainly if compared with similar in the UK). The pool, gym and jacuzzi were not used by us but was an extra that many might appreciate. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. Breakfast was included in the price and very adequate for our needs - we are British after all! An excellent two night stay.

Room Tip: There are a variety of designer rooms and suites available. We accepted what was offered but ask whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaguarWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    168
    59
    30
    16
See reviews for
116
309
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would actually give it 4-1/2 stars if I could. It's not the Ritz, but I didn't expect it to be. The price is very reasonable, and our stay was great. Price was an issue for us, so we booked the lowest price queen room, and on arrival we were upgraded to a king leisure suite. The room was quite large, with a comfortable sitting area, very clean with a comfy bed. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our only minor complaint was the size of the bathroom. Very little space to put things, so many items (curling iron, electric razor etc.) had to be stored in the bedroom. It would only require a small investment to add a shelf in the bathroom. Apparently they used to have a continental breakfast, but now they have a full hot breakfast, which was better than I would have expected. A typical day had scrambled eggs, sausage, French toast, assorted breads and pastries, cereals, juice, make-your-own waffles etc. On our next Galena trip we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tozer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

i guess unless you request a special suite, you get a normal room like we had. boring decor with dated furniture. the suites might be a little gaudy for most people, so it would be nice if regular rooms could be updated. the pool and hot tub area looked nice. breakfast was the usual...good enough. there's no covered entrance for parking motorcycles during rain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wever, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here last night in the CAVE. Awesome it was. All the motel was very clean and the staff was awesome. We will definitely go there again. The Bfast was plenty and changes every day. They put up a list of what will be what day. That was nice. Coffee was excellent too. Nice pool that is both inside and outside along with a nice sized hot tub in the atrium.

Room Tip: They have two fantasy rooms done, the CAVE and the ROMAN RETREAT, both are great. They are working o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henshaw52658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Felt very welcome! Clean hotel in a beautiful city. Will be returning with our kids and also for our couples get away. The front desk saw had disability and offered a few options in order to make my stay and getting around easier and enjoyable. The room very clean and the patio opens to beautiful wooded lot. It is close to downtown where lots of stores and restraunts and walks along river. Couple and family friendly hotel

Room Tip: From time walk in to register till when return room card. Clean, friendly and wonderful setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Have stayed in the Lincoln room before & loved it. This time we stayed in another room. Both were very clean & quiet. Loved the indoor outdoor pool & hot tub. The breakfast bar was well stocked & good. Staff is always friendly & helpful. The hotel is close to the downtown area. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Although we booked this hotel through Priceline on a "deal" for just under $100, it felt more like a dated Motel 6 than anything else. The bed was squeaky/worn, the room fixtures dated, and the carpet faded and threadbare in spots. You could hear a lot of noise from adjacent rooms and the road, even though it didn't seem like the people were being inordinately loud. The staff was very nice, however - very commendable, and even though the facilities seemed quite old it appeared clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdmcginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grant Hills Motel
Grant Hills Motel
#10 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing