We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice choice for inexpensive hotel in Galena.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Very nice choice for inexpensive hotel in Galena.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We decided to do an overnight in Galena in February 2012 for my birthday (only 20 minutes away from Dubuque, IA).

We were kind of thinking about a theme room as a nice getway from the kiddos. I had checked into the rooms at the Don Q Inn in Dodgeville, Wi, but the rooms seemed really dated and the price was pretty high. Also, there was not much in Dodgeville that we wanted to see, other than the House on the Rocks, and I think we will save that for another time. The Best Western Designer Inn and Suites has theme rooms here, so we looked at this hotel next. Unfortunately, all theme rooms were sold out (this was Valentines' weekend), but they did have a king bed with whirlpool and fireplace available for a lot less than in Dodgeville, so we booked it.) What a great choice!!!

The room was great for a romantic overnight not far from home. I am posting pictures to show how nice the room was. We will definitely come back and will try to get a theme room the next time. They look great from the pictures we have seen.

Anyway, our room was clean, nicely decorated, and well taken care of. The bed was comfy. There was a flat-screen TV. The whirlpool was way big enough for two and was in the bedroom, not some tiny tub stuffed off into a bathroom that only fits one. There was an inside and outside door. We were actually on the parking lot side on first floor, so we did not have much of a view or a balcony, but it looks beautiful from the other side of the hotel. I would request the side facing the woods if I was booking again, and I think a balcony would be nice too.

The staff were friendly and open to giving ideas on what to do.

We did not get a chance to try the breakfast or pool area, but we hope to try both of them in the future, as we have heard great things about them both.

We would definitely recommend this place to friends and will be back ourselves!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    135
    54
    27
    13
See reviews for
93
264
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here in three years to go skiing. It is a 15 min drive to Chestnut, probably one of the closest hotels and is very affordable. Staff was very nice and friendly. The room (2 queen) was very spacioius and clean, including a nice sitting area and a porch. Breakfast includes hot choices- make your own waffles, eggs, meat- as well as pastries and the usual other amenities and is very good. The kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the hot tub was great after a day on the slopes. The pool closes at 10, would be nice if the pool stayed open until 11 on Friday & Saturday. The rooms look like they have been redone lately. The exterior and public spaces could use some lite maintenance and updating. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the second or third floor should be great however couples should consider one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I were travelling and heard about what a great place Galena is to visit. Our stay at this hotel really made our trip fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and spacious. We are planning our next stay there again soon and woulld highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here again. The room was really clean. The fireplace in the room was nice to have. The breakfast tasted good. It was presented well and kept clean. The desk clerk was very friendly.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Awful! Pool is fairly small and only open til 10:00 at night! On a Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Awful service got in the room the toilet wouldn't flush and went to call front desk well guess what? Phone didn't work! Then call her on our cell and she says well we can see what we can do with a hush. She comes up stomps through the room and fixes both and leaves and says have a nice night. Yea ok lady horrible room!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I arrived at the Best Western in Galena and was quite impressed. The room was clean, spacious, well taken care. The service was great and so was the price. I would definitely come back. Although, I was not able to enjoy the breakfast or the pool because I wanted to stay in bed, other guests informed me they were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Best Western Galena for 3 nights in early December. The hotel itself was very presentable - clean and tidy. The staff was very helpful and made sure we knew of all the amentities and answered any questions and made suggestions for local places to visit. The room itself was very nice, my fiance was very impressed with my choice for booking this hotel. :) It was a very large and open with a LOT of storage (if you need it). The bed was comfy and we liked the nice touches of the pottery lamps and old sewing wheel tv stand. We especially enjoyed the breakfast provided and the snacks the hotel offered too! There was always hot coffee if you needed it too! We utilized the pool and hot tub which were excellent and a great way to relax after a day of shopping and strolling. I also really enjoyed the fact that they offered WIFI so I could utilize that on my laptop. I did notice they also had a computer in the lobby for guest use. The hotel is also in a great location from downtown Galena. We had a nice time in Galena and when we return we will book at the Best Western!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshWee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing