We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the balcony suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“LOVED the balcony suite”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

What a pleasant surprise! We had a HUGE suite on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking a creek ... and it's spring! So naturally, we left the door open all night to enjoy a cool breeze.

The beds were so VERY comfortable, we kinda wished we were not just passing thru. President Ulysses Grant was born here and there is a nice historic downtown area. There was NOT a lot of room for our 40' fifth-wheel, but we squeezed it in on 1 side of the parking lot.

The hot breakfast is served in a cozy lounge with antiques and there are themed suites available also. If we are ever back in this area, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: On the back side overlooking the creek should be quieter than the front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    184
    65
    33
    19
See reviews for
134
329
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice place to stay. The Heart fantasy room was great. Helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weak10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in the Crystal Cave fantasy suite for my birthday. It was absolutely amazing. There is so much attention to detail within this room, it's impressive. My fiance and I couldn't stop talking about how amazed we were.

The hottub is also really cool, it has LED lights in it, so the color of the water changes! The staff also put neatly folded towels throughout the room.

The bed feels like you're sleeping on a tempur-pedic one, we both slept really well.

Although I should add, the rest of the hotel is a little lack-luster. When pulling up, it's hard to believe you are even at the right place. The inside is pretty dated and a little cheesy. BUT, these suites are the bomb, and make it totally worth it.

A MUST STAY if you are staying over in Galena!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Three couples stayed her the last weekend of February, 2012. We had 3 king rooms which were amazingly spacious. Each room had a king bed (very comfy, I might add) as well as a sleeper sofa, coffee table, 2 wing chairs and a writing table. Our rooms also had coffee pots and refrigerators. We arrived very early and were happy to be allowed to check in before noon (unheard of)! The check in clerk was extremely helpful in informing us about restaurants and various places of interest in town.

After hours exploring, we headed back to soak in the hot tub and swim in the pool. The pool area is smaller than many hotels we've stayed at, but ample enough for the number of rooms here. The indoor/outdoor feature of this pool was interesting, but as the outside temp was pretty chilly, no one stayed outside for long. The pool area was warm and inviting.

The hotel offers several "designer" rooms, but none of us had one and did not see any of them. The pictures look intriguing, so we might try one on a future trip to Galena. As I said, the beds were very comfortable, but I'm not a big fan of the small pillows they use. I'd rather have the more standard size pillows that very few hotels seem to use anymore. One of these small pillows isn't enough and two is just too much. We had a beautiful view of the woods off of our balcony, which I'm sure is truly gorgeous in summer and fall. Our friends had a view of the parking lot off of theirs. There was no outside noise to speak of coming from the highway, but you could hear your neighbors through the walls and anyone coming down the hall. Luckily, no one was overly loud for extended periods of time.

Breakfast looks like it changes daily. They post a menu near the check-in desk letting you know what the next day's breakfast will be. We had french toast, ham, waffles, and scrambled eggs for our hot menu offerings, and several standard cold menu offerings as well (hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, cereal, etc.) None of us left feeling hungry or wishing for more.

All in all, a pleasant place to spend a weekend when visiting this beautiful, historic city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Recently we tried staying at bed and breakfast just to find out thats not our thing. We run to few close by hotels and Best Western had the best value. Rooms were good in size with the fireplace and small balcony. Front desk was friendly. They showed us few rooms before we decided to stay there. Hotel is 2 minutes from Main St in Galena so for the price its a good value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackDelores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice rooms near down town historic Galena, Grant's Home and within easy driving distance to Chestnut Mt. Beds were slightly firm which I liked. Breakfast was great with a good selection. Liked the sausage. Staff needed to be better aquainted with churches in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed at other motels in Galena, but this was our first experience at the Best Western. This will be our first choice for our future trips! The room was quaint and clean. The bathroom was spotless! Check-in was pleasant and quick! The breakfast was delicious and hot. But the best thing was the affordable price! Thank you Best Western Designer Inn and Suites for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
4.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Designer Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#7 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled large rooms! Newly remodeled bathrooms! New lobby and new hallways! Located 1/2 mile from downtown Main Street Galena. Free hot breakfast with stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing