We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannova's Pizzeria

Cannova's Pizzeria
Ranked #20 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner here. The chicken picatta was super--some of the best anywhere. The service was great; wine pours generous and the price was right. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    49
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OOOHHHH Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I rate the pizza #1, but can't be selfish on the pasta, it's the next best depending on your taste. Super nice atmosphere for dining in, or call ahead if you are living it up and want to "party" in your overnight spot, the carry out is full service! I never miss this place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 833Christine_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little gem in Galena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Food here was really special - we actually scraped our plates to get every last drop of sauce! I got the sea scallop special and my companion got lasagna. Both were flavorful and generous portions. Only complaint was that the tables are really tightly packed together - we could listen to several conversations without straining. We'll go to Cannovas again when we're in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

There's a reason tables are often in short supply at this relatively small place: the food and service are consistently excellent. No pretense or fancy frills, just great pizza and other Italian favorites at reasonable prices. Good selection of wines by the glass and bottle too. We've eaten here many times and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank JBN1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience and good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great to at Cannovas. The waitress was great. It was busy and tightly packed, but the service and food was great. The restaurant is little but nice and they have a system that works. Our pizza was great. It more then just Pizza Hut.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashely j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannova's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Cannova's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing