We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Earth and experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
11
Reviewed July 16, 2006

If you're looking for a very friendly, laid back, bed and breakfast that is off the beaten path but still close to town, Terra Linda is a great choice. Sleep in then wake up to the sounds of a farm, a breakfast cooked with fresh eggs and coffee, etc. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay with Armando who loves sharing his farm house and enjoys telling stories while keeping a comfortable distance for personal leisure. If we ever go back to Galena we'll definitely stay at Terra Linda Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2006

If you want fancy bath soaps and potpourri, this is not the place. If you want your kids to have a place where they can get dirty, dig in the sand, troll around in a row boat, and the proprietor encourages it all, this is the place. Fun little trails, a real slice of the midwest, totally relaxing. Wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

This amazing B&B is an alternative to victorian frilly B&B's that apeal to 60 year olds. The owner, Armando has created this 11 acre country getaway with a swimming pond (make that a lake!) stocked with fish. He brought in 50 truck loads of sand to create a beach. He has hiking trails and funky old out houses and barns that make it a exploration wonderland.

Wonderful old farmhouse, comfortable beds and a nice breakfast make it a great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank raysbucktownbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
12
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Tierra Linda is absolutely beautiful!! I found it by accident while searching the internet for B&B's for my husband and I to stay at for our Honeymoon and it was meant to be!

Before booking I called TL and spoke to Armando to find out more about this wonderful establishment and after speaking to him for a while, I was so looking forward to our visit. Even over the phone Armando is extraordinarily hospitable! It is not often that you find places where you can bring your dog with and let her have a vacation from everyday life right along with you.

The farm house only has 2 rooms, each with private bath, and you really feel like you are at home. There is no TV, but listening to the sounds of nature (or Santana) is sooo much better. Armando cooks breakfast every morning and it is delightful. He uses fresh eggs gathered off his property from his chickens.

There are a plethora of things to do outside, swimming, fishing, rowing a boat, hiking, relaxing in the hammock, sitting by the bonfire, watching for shooting stars, that you really do not want to leave, even to go into Galena. My husband fixed up Armando’s fishing gear and created “Bob’s Bait and Tackle” so that everyone can enjoy the fishing.

Our time at Tierra Linda was wonderful and we can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
El Paso, Texas
12
Reviewed June 28, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victor908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Galena, IL
11
Reviewed June 25, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
5.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
LeFevre Inn & Resort
LeFevre Inn & Resort
#14 of 33 in Galena
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#7 of 33 in Galena
580 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Linda Bed and Breakfast

Address: 826 S Rocky Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9159
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Linda is a dog friendly Bed and Breakfast. There are two rooms to rent and we have a private large spring-fed pond for boating, fishing and for your dog to play. There is also a private sandy beach, a magic forest and a cascading creek. Our place is ideal for relaxation and for observing nature, particularly birds, frogs, turtles, rabbits, deer, coyotes, etc, etc ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tierra Linda Hotel Galena
Tierra Linda b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing