We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private unique getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Ranked #12 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2008

What a wonderful unique Bed and Breakfast a couple blocks from the downtown tourist area! Only two guest suites are available - Albert's Glen and Randolph's Roost - with 17 inch limestone walls, making for a very quiet stay. Free private hot tub and sauna are in the building next door. Owners are artists, and their artwork is part of the decor. We stayed in Albert's Glen - you gotta see the bathroom! And we had a kitchenette and fireplace in our suite besides! Breakfast was superb and cozy. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnidancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2008

We had an excellent stay. The breakfasts were great....We really enjoyed the room. Don't worry, the location is great..short walk to town. The 27" walls of the room block out ALL noise...Hubby and I slept wonderful on the king bed. One of the few B & B's to have King beds, hot tub and sauna....A great experience. We will be back next year.
Brian and Lorraine-Nashville, Tn

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lthrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Abe's Spring Street Guest House is a gem! My husband, our adult daughter, and I stayed here for one night, and wish we could have stayed longer!

We stayed in Albert's Glen, the larger of the two suites. Besides being one of the most unique places we have ever stayed, the suite was immaculately clean. The king-size bed was super-comfy; the bathroom is HUGE, and there is a (non-cooking) kitchen with coffeemaker and fridge. Charles's artwork is featured throughout: the unique tiles around the stove in the sitting area, the tiles in the kitchen; the sculptures in the bathroom; the posts on the bed; even the ceramic coffee cups.

Sandy's care and attention to detail was evident everywhere, and our gourmet breakfast was delicious; she made sure the vegetarian member of our family was well-taken care of, too. The company around the breakfast table was casual and friendly.

Guests have full use of both a sauna and hot-tub, with arrangements for each guest to have private use of both.

Sandy and Charles are consummate hosts who provide a relaxing, luxurious haven. We're hoping to have an opportunity to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeacherBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at this awesome B&B over the long weekend in July. It was an great experience. This is the first time we have been to a B&B and it was everything we expected and more. The B&B has only two suites with private entrances and off-street parking. It also has a hot tub and sauna that you can enjoy with complete privacy. In the mornings, you are treated to a hearty breakfast made by Sandy in her own kitchen. Sandy is a great host. And, right next door is Charles' workshop where you can watch him working over his next project.

We stayed in the smaller suite since the larger one was already booked but it did not disappoint us. It had a great charm to it, the bed very very comfortable. All furniture is hand made art by Charles. It is a very beautiful artistic place. No other hotel or B&B will even come close to this.

The inn's closeness to downtown Galena has a huge advantage. You can walk right over to Main Street so you don't need to find parking in the downtown :)

Overall, we are glad that we found this place. We are definitely going back!!! And we recommend this inn to anyone who wants to have a charming and relaxing time!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband & I stayed in Abe's Apring Street Guest House for 4th July weekend this year and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

We stayed in Albert's Glen - a large suite with it's own private entrance, kitchen, sitting area, bathroom & sleeping area.

The bed was super-comfortable and a work of art - each bed post is decorated with brass nymphs created by owner, Charles Fach. In fact, the whole place is full of Charles' artwork & it was fun finding each new piece as we explored the property.

Sandy' breakfasts were delicious and she excelled herself, producing gourmet dishes each of the four mornings we stayed at Abe's. It was also interesting meeting new people at the breakfast table & sharing stories of their time in Galena.

Charles showed us around his pottery studio and we left with hand-crafted mugs to remind us of a lovely stay.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful break.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WeeIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

In March, 2008 my sister and I along with my daughters enjoyed a memorable weekend at Abe's Bed & Breakfast. A warm and smiling welcome was waiting for us from Sandy the owner. Our rooms were cheery and decorated with the artistic touches of the owners. Very unique! Unknown to us was a hot tub. Something we definitely will use on our next visit. It was easily accessible to town and had convenient parking. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with great history and hospitality. We would recommend the Glaze and Graze offered at this unique bed & breakfast. Sandy and Charles made us feel like part of their family. Love, Bonnie Engstrom and Sue Clearman

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Margaret11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed two nights in Galena at Abe's Spring Street Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the smaller of the two guest suites, Rudolph's Retreat. We found the bedbroom, sitting room and bathroom to be very charming, well decorated and stocked with all the necessities (i.e. coffee pot, wine glasses, corkscrew, television, mini fridge, etc.) Both of the suites have private entrances and off-street parking. They also offer an amazing grotto-like hot tub and sauna for guests to utilize (guests from one suite use it individually so you don't have to share with strangers.). We enjoyed amazing conversation with Sandy at the morning breakfast where she showcased her amazing culinary talent. They have an art and pottery studio that was quite interesting-- very talented people. The buildings hold such memorable architectural details and art. We're not the type of people who frequent a lot of bed&breakfasts (we prefer privacy) but this guest house offers the perfect solution for a private, romantic get-away that isn't your typical run-of-the-mill hotel. We will definitely stay here if we visit Galena again. It's a quick 3 minute walk to the heart of downtown Galena. We highly recommend this guest house! It would be a great place for two couples or a group of girlfriends to go, too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TammyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.4 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Address: 414 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $95 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing