We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
505
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
505
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house somerset cottage hal wendy get away my husband and i porch swing garden room wonderful hosts grounds are beautiful cookies quiche rolling hills breakfast was delicious off the beaten path each morning can't wait to go back downtown galena
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 531 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Wendy and Hal have an amazing place!! We stayed over from Friday-Sunday and couldn’t of been more pleased. The cottage was amazing, clean and the owners couldn’t be nicer. Breakfast each morning was really amazing and some of the best I’ve ever had. The main building has games, puzzles and dvd’s you can bring back to use and the peacefulness of the property is very nice.

I would and will recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet place to stay, close to Galena and even if you want to spend most of your time at your cottage or room, It will be well worth it. Kitchenette, satellite tv and DVD player or just walking the nature trail or sitting on your porch, what more could you ask for.

I can’t wait to go back!

Manuel E

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank manuele2K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLB2752, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you so much and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your getaway as certainly that is our goal for our Hawk Valley Retreat visitors
Wendy and Hal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Enjoyed our stay very much. Owners are very personable. Breakfast is very, very good. Ask him about his biscuit recipe and where he got it from! If you're looking to get out of town, put this down as a strong option. I get the feeling they have a lot of repeat business.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bforbes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We do indeed get alot of repeat business and we feel like our guests become like family. We hope to see you again soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

We loved how secluded this place was...not too far from town but a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy! The breakfast was amazing!!! I would highly recommend and will be back! Thanks to Hal and Wendy for everything!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ntbrsimpson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

We agree...just far enough from Galena to be relaxing, but easy to get there. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Our room was very clean and nice! Beautiful decorations throughout, made it feel very homey.The bed was very comfortable and the tub was very clean and relaxing! Loved our porch and the amazing view! We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to your return visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019 via mobile

Wendy and Hal are great innkeepers. It was a beautiful place only 8 miles out of Galena. The breakfasts were first rate and very tasty. Coffee available all day. The perfect place to get away from it all. We would stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 180jeffreyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

We thank your for your review. You are so right...an easy eight miles from Galena. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews