We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
497
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
497
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house somerset cottage hal wendy get away my husband and i porch swing garden room wonderful hosts grounds are beautiful quiche rolling hills cookies breakfast was delicious off the beaten path each morning downtown galena can't wait to go back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 523 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This is a wonderful place! Hal and Wendy are awesome hosts! They make you feel welcomed and the food is AMAZING!! If you are in the Galena area you should DEFINATLEY stay here!!! They have great gluten free options. You couldn't ask for better hosts..

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jasonramirez1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. We love having you here at Hawk Valley Retreat and look forward to your next visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

The Hawk Valley Retreat was a great place to stay. We stayed in the Pines Cottage and enjoyed every minute of it. Hal and Wendy put on a great breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.

Dennis and Gail

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

We thank you for joining us at Hawk Valley. We so enjoy welcoming guests to our little "retreat" and look forward to your return visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We spent a lovely long weekend at the Hillside Cottage. Quiet, romantic, and well-appointed. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The drive into Galena was short and scenic. We would happily return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trip09097656475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

We thank you for joining us and we would love to see you again. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in the somerset cottage. Nice cozy cabin. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Well keep grounds and cabins. A natures lovers retreat. Quiet and peaceful. Walking trails and wildlife. Easy drive to Galena.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank maplegrovejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

We thank you for your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed our little "home away from home". We look forward to your next visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

My wife and I spent two nights in the charming and comfortable Hillside cottage last week for a brief getaway from our hectic lives in Chicago and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Wendy and Hal were such gracious and accommodating hosts and the property is gorgeous. Particular thanks to Hal for sharing his secret to the best scrambled eggs I think I've ever had! We're already planning a return trip when the weather is warmer so we can take advantage of the outdoors.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Yep those eggs of Hals are pretty tasty...An immersion blender and patience with slow cooking is for sure the answer. We look forward to your return visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews