We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
488
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
488
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house somerset cottage hal wendy get away my husband and i porch swing garden room grounds are beautiful wonderful hosts quiche rolling hills cookies off the beaten path downtown galena can't wait to go back each morning breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our 2nd visit and we absolutely loved our time. We were able to just relax and enjoy our cottage. Both mornings we had an excellent breakfast! Nestled out of Galena it’s quite and welcoming. Looking forward to more visits in the future.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pioneer62216909688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for returning to Hawk Valley Retreat and for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

I stayed one night at the Pines cottage here and I was SO surprised and impressed with the whole experience. I had my NCLEX (nursing state board exam) scheduled and wanted to stay somewhere close by. Decided to try something different than a regular hotel and found Hawk Valley’s website. I am so glad that that I did! I had a lot going on between work and just life in general and wanted to try to relax for once. I also had quite the adventure getting there. From the moment I got there it just felt so comfortable, so accommodating. The cottage and whole property is absolutely gorgeous, Wendy and Hal were so incredibly kind and you can tell that they go above and beyond to make sure everyone has a wonderful experience. Not to mention, the breakfast was amazing as well!! Already planning on coming back when it gets a little more warm out.

PS. I passed my board exam

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank KirstenMarie422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We are so glad that you arrived here safely and that you enjoyed your stay. Also, congratulations on passing your board exam. On to the next chapter in your life. We look forward to seeing you soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

My wife and I stayed here while visiting Galena for two nights in February. The cottages is about a 10 minute drive from downtown Galena. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and homey. The owner's made us feel very welcome and took very good care of us and the other guests. I mentioned that I have issues with gluten and they took it upon themselves to make gluten free breakfast alternatives for me. They even made a plate of cookies for the guests one night and even made some gluten free ones. We can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy the property when the weather is better. It was everything I expected and then some.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Many, many thanks to you for taking the time to publish a review. We are happy when we can accommodate our guest's dietary needs. It's what we are here for. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

My husband and I went here this past weekend and loved every bit of our stay. The amazing view from the cottage, wonderful hospitality, and delicious homemade breakfast is one experience I won't forget. We will be coming back next time we are in the Galena area. If you are looking to experience some peace and quiet and absorb Galena's amazing country land this place is for you.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind words about your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

My wife and I had a really enjoyable trip to Hawk Valley Retreat. Our room was clean, cozy, and well decorated. Our hosts made us feel right at home, provided excellent service, and the breakfasts exceeded expectations. We enjoyed spending time in the historic town of Galena, spent time at one of the scenic, local wineries, and even enjoyed horseback riding a short distance from the property. I would highly recommend a stay at Hawk Valley to anyone looking for a weekend getaway, to celebrate a special occasion, or for a surprise date with your significant other!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curious45088093504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Thank you for joining us at Hawk Valley Retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our retreat and that you were able to take advantage of many of the great activities here in Galena. We hope to see you soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews