We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveler rating
485
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
485
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house somerset cottage hal wendy get away my husband and i porch swing garden room grounds are beautiful wonderful hosts quiche rolling hills cookies off the beaten path downtown galena can't wait to go back each morning breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 511 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2019

My husband and I went here this past weekend and loved every bit of our stay. The amazing view from the cottage, wonderful hospitality, and delicious homemade breakfast is one experience I won't forget. We will be coming back next time we are in the Galena area. If you are looking to experience some peace and quiet and absorb Galena's amazing country land this place is for you.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Britney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind words about your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

My wife and I had a really enjoyable trip to Hawk Valley Retreat. Our room was clean, cozy, and well decorated. Our hosts made us feel right at home, provided excellent service, and the breakfasts exceeded expectations. We enjoyed spending time in the historic town of Galena, spent time at one of the scenic, local wineries, and even enjoyed horseback riding a short distance from the property. I would highly recommend a stay at Hawk Valley to anyone looking for a weekend getaway, to celebrate a special occasion, or for a surprise date with your significant other!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curious45088093504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2019

Thank you for joining us at Hawk Valley Retreat. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our retreat and that you were able to take advantage of many of the great activities here in Galena. We hope to see you soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

This is a special place. Beautiful scenery, wonderful hosts, really gourmet-type cuisine made by the hosts. We prefer staying in one of the cottages. They are fully equipped with kitchen needs, and a whirlpool tub. The views are wonderful and one can even see some deer in the surrounding fields.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Mm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Wow...thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoy the cottages and are quite honored that you believe the food is gourmet-type...our biggest hope is that you simply enjoy good home cooked food...so thank you so much. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Hawk Valley is so romantic and quaint, the pictures do not do it justice. We visited in the off season, and were looking for a quiet, secluded getaway for New Years.
I couldn't resist the urge to head into town anyway, and Hawk valley is still close enough to Galena to explore the shops downtown.
The hosts are so friendly I'm hospitable, the breakfast was delicious, I could go on and on.
YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AliciaMc1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and wish you a Happy New Year. Hal and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

If you’re visiting Galena, Hawk Valley is a must stay! Super clean and adorable. Wendy and Hal are extremely nice and will definitely take care of you. The breakfast is amazing and so delicious. The rooms and cottages are so clean and well put together. My husband and I also eloped here and they made the moment perfect!! Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kodib0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit...Merry Christmas Hal and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews