We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
479
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
479
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house somerset cottage hal wendy get away my husband and i porch swing garden room grounds are beautiful wonderful hosts rolling hills quiche cookies off the beaten path downtown galena each morning breakfast was delicious we loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 505 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

My Husband and I have stayed at Hawk Valley in the past. He recently passed away and I decided to book at the retreat to relive some wonderful memories as part of my grieving process. Wendy and Hal were very sweet. I was treated very well and never felt out of place being the only "solo" person in a place made for couples.

Breakfast was wonderful. Homemade pancakes with warm blueberry compote and sausage links was one day. Cheesy eggs with scratch biscuits and sausage patties was the other day. Wendy and Hal can sure cook!

The retreat is very secluded and has wonderful views. There are a lot of birds flitting about in the breakfast area. It is very peaceful.

I had a very nice weekend and it was just what I needed at this time.

Room tip: Woodland has a very comfy queen size bed. Has it's own entry into the room, instead of going thru the main entrance.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

We are so happy that you returned to Hawk Valley Retreat some of your special places. We hope that you left with pleasant memories and that you will return again soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

My wife and i said we would go back to Hawk Valley and we did. Peaceful and relaxing just as it was in Oct 2016.Hal and Wendy were the perfect host , we enjoyed their company as much as the stay that ended with the perfect breakfast, what more can be said except we will try to make it back for a 3rd time thanks Hal & Wendy. Jim&Sue Peru, Il

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLB2752, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

So glad that you returned and enjoyed your visit...can't wait for your third visit. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Meadows room and the wonderful breakfasts. We enjoyed mornings relaxing with a cup of coffee or tea and watching birds. Beds were very comfortable. Would stay here again when we come to this area.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paradise66338175739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLB2752, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

We look forward to your return visit. One of my very favorite things to do is to sit on the deck in the morning with my cup of coffee and watch the birds. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

This was our 4th trip to Hawk Valley. We were made to feel like part of the family.The setting in the country gave us a feeling of home.We were given advice on dining and shopping in Galena that was helpful.Our stay went way too fast.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank btownteachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLB2752, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

We thank you for joining us and we too feel as if our guests become family. We hope that you are able to return soon and perhaps stay a bit longer. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

This was our third visit to Hawk Valley. We have enjoyed our stay each and every time. Breakfast is outstanding, the cottages are clean and the perfect size for a weekend getaway. Hawk Valley is the perfect distance from the downtown area. Beautiful scenery and close enough to not miss a beat in town. We definitely plan to visit again, and can't wait to do so!

Room tip: Don't skip breakfast, and come hungry!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank proverbs31Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

We thank you for returning to Hawk Valley Retreat and taking the time to post your comments here on Trip Advisor. We would agree that we are the perfect distance from town...close enough to get there quickly, yet far enough away to experience the peace and tranquility of the country. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon. Wendy and Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews