We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We went here for our 30th anniversary. I can't even begin to say how wonderful this place was. The location is about 7 miles from town but the drive out there is breathtaking with all the hills and valleys. It is nestled in a valley with wildlife all around. The only sound we heard was birds and cows. Our cottage was very comfortable and extremely clean. There is a nice whirlpool and plenty of space to spread out. The deck gave us beautiful views of the surrounding area. We had total privacy tucked in amongst the trees. The landscaping around the property is well tended by Jane the owner. There is even a stocked fishing pond and poles are ready to use. The morning breakfast was outstanding each of the 4 mornings we were there. Jane is one of the nicest hostesses you will ever meet and her advice for touring the area is right on. Even her dining suggestions were always good. When we go back to Galena I will never stay any place else. Heaven is at Hawk Valley and we were so lucky to have experienced it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

We spent our honeymoon here and it was wonderful! The location is right out in the country and we enjoyed nature and peace and quiet. A real respit from the city. Jane cooked up some delicious breakfasts, wow! We can't wait to return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I was searching for a place to stay on a short weekend trip in Galena and found what turned out to be a wonderful B&B in a beautiful location about 7 miles from Galena. The hosts are Jane and Fritz, but we only met Jane -she was a wonderful hostess. Our cottage was great - nice, clean, and comfy. Really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. We made another reservation for June as we checked out. I couldn't wait to share this spot with my friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schubie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had a great stay in the Swan Lake Room. Breakfast was fabulous (thank you Jane :)) and the room was very clean with a very, very comfortable bed! It was a great escape from downtown Chicago. We wanted to get back in touch with our "nature" sideand stay in the country, but still have access to Galena's restaurants....it was the perfect place for this! Less than a 10 minute drive to downtown Galena....would definitely recommend to friends! ps the National Mississippi River Museum in Dubuque is a must see!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. Jane was a wonderful host; her breakfasts were the best. She made us feel at home – she is an excellent conversationalist. The cottage was clean and tastefully furnished. It was good to stay outside Galena – very quiet. We ran in the hills around the estate and it was very peaceful and scenic. Recommend a visit to Galena Museum. Its small but interesting. Also went into Dubuque and visited the excellent art museum.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Our stay at the Hawk Valley Retreat was the first time we both had been to the Galena area. We were both very pleased with the B&B and enjoyed the company of our hosts Jane and Fritz. The breakfasts were very good and you really get quite a bit a food. What really stands out about Hawk Valley is the grounds. For anybody who just enjoys a nice peaceful retreat this is the place for you. There would have to be only one suggestion I would give to someone looking at coming here and that would be to reserve one of the private houses for a romantic getaway. The room in the house was lovely but you can pretty much hear everthing that is going on in the house. For the value though it was quite nice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

The cottages are clean and up to date and have everything you need in them. The fireplace and corner hot tub help to make it a romantic stay. The innkeepers are wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
878 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $98 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing