We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$85
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$75
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
442
22
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesomerset cottagehal wendyget awaymy husband and ib bhomemade granolaporch swingbird watchinggarden roompeace and quietback porchwonderful hostsgrounds are beautifulcookiesquichedowntown galena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 467 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My husband I visited Galena with another couple and we all had
a great time. We relaxed, food was wonderful at Hawk Valley, very nice people. We enjoyed getting away from the 'rat race'
of Chicagoland. Property was really nice and very well maintained. Scenery was great as well.

We've made reservations for next year already!

Thank you.............

Stayed: October 2008
Thank c08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is a wonderful place to get away. Jane and Fritz are such wonderful hosts. And Jane makes the best breakfasts ever! My favorite is her baked pancakes with strawberries... MMMmmm!! So yummy! The property is gorgeous and very well-kept. It's far enough from downtown Galena so there is peace and quiet. But it's close enough to downtown so it's not a long haul back and forth. It's in the perfect location!
My husband and I have been there three times. We went there on our honeymoon and stayed there again for our first anniversary. We will continue staying there for years to come. I highly suggest staying there. You will fall in love and never want to leave!

Marion
Willowbrook, IL

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nieves1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We hope to return to Hawk Valley Retreat time and time again. The grounds are expansive and beautiful - our daughter loved rolling down the hills and fishing in the pond. She especially loved the wildlife. Fritz and Jane are the perfect host and hostess - delicious breakfasts, great local dining and shopping advice, and their bonfires are the perfect end to a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmbe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our 3 nights at Hawk Valley were wonderful, the cottages were clean and comfortable, the grounds are beautiful and the morning breakfast was fantastic. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ILTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Jane and Fritz will treat you right during your stay at their B&B. icely appointed, the cottages and the rooms offer a perfect place to get away from it all. The views on the property are awesome, especially while watching the night sky beside a roaring bon fire by the pond or seeing the sun set behind hills. The rural setting is only minutes from downtown Galena and short road trips to Dubuque, IA, state parks in WI, IA, and IL, and other good places to have fun. Breakfast is very filling and delicious. Well-behaved children will find this an ideal location as well.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tjj805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews