We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first B&B experience and we loved it!! We stayed in the Pines Cabin and we enjoyed the feel of the B&B but the privacy of our own space! The cottage was very clean and cozy! We came in Friday night and Hal and Wendy made and served us an incredible romantic meal in our cabin! The food was amazing and huge portions!! Then Saturday... more amazing food for breakfast and then we had a fabulous couples massage right in our cabin!! Perfect way to relax and wind down! We loved the drive into town and Hal and Wendy were so willing to give directions or recommendations for our time in Galena!I can not wait to go back!! Thank you Hal & Wendy!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KeriLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your get-away weekend here at Hawk Valley Retreat and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 444 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our first experience at a B&B. I will definitely be going back to Hawk Valley, hopefully this fall when the leaves change colors! Hal greeted us, told us to make ourselves comfortable as this was our home too while visiting. Wendy & Hal each have their "specialty" areas, his cooking/greeting guests, hers grounds-keeping & housecleaning. We stayed in the Swan Lake Room in the main house. It was spacious for a bedroom & the bathroom was very nice sized; one of the perks being handicap accessible which we later discovered. I chose this room due to it having a king-sized bed. The other two rooms in the main house had their own baths & queen beds. In addition, Hawk Valley has four individual cottages, three that are one-bedroom studios, the fourth having a separate bedroom from the rest of the living area.

Both mornings, Hal cooked up a delicious, hearty hot breakfast, while Wendy made sure everyone had beverage refills & cleared plates. The servings were very substantial, I'm a big eater, but my husband finished both breakfasts because of the portion sizes. Hal & Wendy even shared their homemade granola mix with us, the first time either of us had yogurt and granola together. It was delicious, the granola was warm, straight from the oven. One of the options was a "Romantic Candlelight Dinner for Two". The cost was $90, but worth every penny (personally I think they could have charged more). In advance, we selected an appetizer, entrée, two sides and dessert. We started with a huge, cheese-stuffed puffed pastry, followed by two large filet mignons, at least 2-1/2" thick, cooked to perfection with home-made yeast dinner rolls hot out of the oven and ginormous twice-baked cheese stuffed baked potatoes. Dinner was ended with vanilla ice cream and TWO oval dishes of hot apple crisp, each one enough to serve 3-4 people. They even offered to substitute their bleu cheese sauce for sautéed mushrooms, right up our alley. They offer to package up left-overs to take with you, which we did.

Some of the benefits of Hawk Valley over the other B&B's I researched, Hawk Valley has separate doors that lead from the bedrooms to the wrap-around deck that circles around the entire main house, we used it to come & go except for mealtime; breakfast serving time is based on when each couple gets to the dining room to eat, that's when Hal cooks the hot food, you don't have to worry about being late & not getting to eat; cookies & candies are always setting out for consumption.

Hal & Wendy are a wealth of information, they suggested several spots to visit that we would not have known about, off the beaten path. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a casual, laid-back, country setting with delicious food served to feed an army. They are only 8 miles from town, just seems farther because of the country roads, but it doesn't take but 10-15 minutes. When we left, it felt like telling Grandma good-bye to her good cooking & comfy home. Can't go wrong here!!

Room Tip: Next time, we will probably try a cottage just to compare. However, we never heard any noises durin...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We enjoyed having you stay with us and are so happy that your first B&B experience was so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed in the Summerset cottage & had a wonderful Valentine's weekend. The cottage was very clean & comfortable. The location was beautiful. We plan on going back to enjoy the grounds when it's not so cold.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATBibik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

We too enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit. Happy that we were able to help make this a special Valentine's Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were here in the winter, and the view from this B&B was beautiful in every direction. It was about a 15 minute drive into the town of Galena, which was fine for us. We enjoyed being more in the country.
Hal and Wendy were wonderful guests and conversationalists, and the breakfasts were amazing.
We will likely come back here.

Room Tip: We stayed inside the house, which was very nice. We did not stay in the cottages, but from what the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We certainly enjoyed having you stay in our B&B...a retreat away from it all. We look forward to your next visit...perhaps you will be n the cottage or we certainly enjoy having you stay here in the main house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hawk Valley is just the place to "run away from home". We have four teenagers at home...need I say more? We have stayed at Hawk Valley four times. we just got back from our first winter trip! It was amazing as always! We have always stayed in one of the cabins. Because we are always with lots of people in our jobs as well as at home, the peace and quite is exactly what we love most! The cabins are immaculate as well as very cozy and comfortable. Wendy and Hal are incredible hosts and amazing cooks. The Hawk Valley property is filled with wildlife and i
is incredibly picturesque. Downtown Galena is about 10 minutes away from Hawk Valley, providing convenience and serenity! We highly reccomend Hawk Valley Retreat to anyone who wants to "run away from home"! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The Foxglen cabin has the best view to the south...The Somerset is the largest cabin with an amazing...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We certainly enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to you next stay in a different season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I arranged a weekend getaway for my wife and I as my Christmas gift to her. I did a lot of research and after reading all of the positive reviews for Hawk Valley Retreat and talking with the owners the choice was easy. When my wife saw the B&B she was very impressed with the location.

Check in was easy and quick. Hal is the easy going, mellow kinda' guy. He and Wendy were kind enough to allow us to check in early. Five minutes later we were dropping our bags in The Pines cottage. Needless to say my wife was all smiles.

I had made arrangements to bring breakfast back to the room for my wife but she wanted to check out the main house. The breakfast area had plenty of room for all of the guests. Hal is a great cook. All of the guests were chatting away, asking questions about the property, what to do in town, etc.

Our cottage was spotless and WARM when we arrived. The cottage has plenty of room in it and the corner jacuzzi tub was great. The refrigerator had a few bottles of water and there were cookies in a glass container on the table. The kitchen also has a Keurig coffee maker which came in very handy.

My wife and I are already talking about making plans to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind note. Not many individuals would go to the length you did to make this a perfect get-away weekend for your wife. You were the hit of the sock hop and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We love this place! It's close enough to access the shopping and dining in Galena but it's just out enough to provide peace and tranquility we need. The house is comfortable. The private entrance to each guest room allows for seclusion when desired but it's also great to have the freedom to use the dining or living room to relax and watch the wildlife. Of course the cottages are my favorite. Breakfasts are always scrumptious. It's a nice time to catch up with Wendy & Hal as well as meet the other guests.

Room Tip: The cottages offer the most privacy
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawkValleyInnkeeper, Owner at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $98 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing