We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I lucked out to get last minute reservation because of a cancellation when we went for an impromptu get away weekend to Galena. Lovely hosts, wonderful accommodations ( clean, comfy, pleasant) and beautiful grounds and surroundings. Breakfast was amazing...we loved the Marshal Fields pancakes. We will most definitely be back and make reservations ahead of time so we can stay in the Hillside cottage next time. Lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

My girlfriend Ashely and I had an amazing time visiting Hawk Valley Retreat! We rented the Somerset cottage for a weekend getaway and it was worth every penny - and then some! The cottage was beautiful and the view... Breath-taking. Coming from the city it was a breath of fresh air (literally & figuratively!). Their cooking and hospitality were top-notch too. What stood out to us was something small, but made a huge impact: Ashley and I both don't like melon, which was in our fruit cup on Saturday morning. We ate around the melon and when Sunday's breakfast came (delivered to our cottage by Wendy) the fruit cup had no melon! It may not seem like that big of deal, but the attention to detail made us feel extremely important.

From the first handshake to the wave goodbye, Hal & Wendy were absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend staying at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages - I know we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: The Somerset Cottage has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Truly a delightful experience. Breakfasts were delicious. We opted for the candlelight dinner. It would rival any gourmet restuarant. Hal and Wendy were the quintessential hosts. We can't wait to go back with friends. Cannot say enough great things! Mike and Clarice Leonard

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kel92650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had the most wonderful time during our 2 days in Galena! We rented two cottages for our family - the cottages are neat and clean, beautifully decorated, and the bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The locale is perfect - it is so picturesque and quiet! You are surrounded by nature - the property is beautifully landscaped, there are walking trails and you can see the stars at night. Hal and Wendy are fabulous hosts - they made us feel so welcome! They even left freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in our cottage! The breakfasts were amazing - Hal even made homemade english muffins, which were absolutely delicious. Overall, we had a phenomenal time, and we are already planning our next trip back to the Hawk Valley Retreat and Cottages.

Room Tip: We rented two cottages, and both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsbchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The setting was secluded and peaceful. The food was delicious and the owners friendly and engaging. We rented one of the small rooms in the main house. They have individual cottages with more room at a higher price. We made our reservations only 2 weeks in advance. We got a good price and a great deal overall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are small but less expensive. We spent most of our time touring, so room siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirkG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is our second visit to Hawk Valley Retreat and we returned because we enjoyed it so much the first time. Our first visit was as a couple and our second visit was with our two children, ages 8 and 11. Since our first visit there are new owners and they are a wonderful couple who do an A+ job. The place is clean and quiet, just outside of Galena, close enough, yet far enough away to be away from the traffic in the countryside with open areas and nature. The breakfast are excellent and the company and recommendations of the hosts, Hal and Wendy are great. It is a relaxing place and with kids this time, they were busy looking for animals, birds and creatures in the pond. We would recommend it and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We enjoy the privacy and extra room of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrnovack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Hawk Valley. We spulrged on a cottage for our anniversary and it was well worth it! Beautiful and clean cottage, peaceful country setting, delicious breakfasts, and lovely hosts, Hal and Wendy. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Galena, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
224 reviews
8.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,362 reviews
9.3 mi away
Goldmoor Inn
Goldmoor Inn
#6 of 32 in Galena
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages

Address: 2752 W Cording Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $98 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to retreat from the real world in a peaceful country setting located on ten acres, eight miles east of Galena. At Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages you have the luxury of choosing from three rooms in the main house or four cottages on the property. Each cottage has a king bed, double whirlpool tub, electric fireplace, full bath, TV/DVD/Satellite system, wireless internet, kitchenette, eating area, sitting area, and porch. Our guestrooms each have a private entrance, private bath, TV/Satellite system, wireless internet, and king or queen bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages Hotel Galena
Hawk Valley Retreat And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing