We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Destination in Galena”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Destination in Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2006

Our experience and stay at the Greenbriar Inn was excellent. Both my wife and I were looking for a "country retreat" and boy did we find it. Very cordial and attentive innkeeper. The early-American styled suite was very clean and well maintained. The ambiance was very mellow and peaceful. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely go back soon.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
113
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2005

I was out in Galena for the craft fair (excellent time to go by the way.) We stayed in one of the suites at the Greenbriar and it was probably the best sleep I've had in a long time. The bed is AMAZINGLY comfortable -- you feel like a princess -- the only downfall is you don't want to get out of it in the morning. =) Bill and Barb are such gracious hosts... always available, and very honest in their recommendations for places to eat -- they really know Galena. My husband and I are already talking about our next visit.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2005

Greenbriar Inn is an awesome place to stay. My boyfriend and I were welcomed with open arms. We were shown a map of the downtown area and we were told of the great places to eat, the different paths to walk downtown, and places to shop like the winery. We were shown our room and how to run the bathtub and how to work the fireplace. The room was very romantic and the "shared" space was very nice especially the screened in porch. In the "shared" space there were coffee pots and a fridge and microwave to use as well as a continental breakfast with fresh fruit and muffins. Our room had a private entrance and was very quaint and we enjoyed it way more than we would have in a hotel and the rate was very very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2005

This was our second stay at the Greenbriar Country Inn and Suites in Galena, Il. That in itself should tell you how we feel about it, considering there are quite a few bed and breakfast facilites in the area. We were looking for a nice getaway, and this was it. The innkeepers were there to greet us, even though we arrived late evening (after 10), and were very helpful in reviewing things, such as when breakfast hours were, what to do if we locked ourselves out, etc. They provided us with useful information about the town, and answered any questions we had cheerfully. The inn is literally within the historic district of town, and an easy stroll to the historic downtown area, full of shops of all kinds, as well as buildings and places of interest. The rooms are comfortable, with a queen sized bed, each with a private bath, and cable TV, but no telephone, which we thought was a good thing, since it was part of why we wanted the getaway to begin with.There is a phone in the building, and of course the innkeepers would always be there in case of emergencies, just not in each room. When we returned from our shopping, we sat in the screened porch for quite a while, just enjoying the peaceful afternoon. I believe that some of the suites have accommodations for more than two, we just haven't looked into that. We loved it and definitely plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2004

The Greenbriar Inn is a real gem in Galena! Located within walking distance of downtown Galena and all it's wonderful shops, it's a perfect setting for a peaceful weekend or an extended stay. My family has stayed there on our last three trips to the area. We just love the beautiful grounds and wonderfully decorated
rooms - so inviting and cozy!
Bill and Barbara are wonderful hosts and made us all feel so comfortable. They are impecable innkeepers providing the most wonderful lodging experience. I highly recommend the Greenbriar and will stay there again and again.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobik49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2004

We have stayed at Greenbriar ever since our 2nd Anniversary. The friendly staff has always provided the best accomodations and excellent recommendations on how to truly enjoy Galena. Make sure you spend some time in the Country Inn for a classic home-away-from-home feel. Cosy up to the fireplace in the dining room with a book or have a cup of tea on the porch. Greenbriar has given us the warmest and some of the most memorable moments in Galena.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin Provincial Park, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2004

Wow, lovely stay at Elmira room (see Net photos), small but very charming and private, back of Inn thus quiet. Continental b-fast now in kitchen with warm breads and fruits. Cleanliness is wow, zoinks! Vinyl bathroom floors, wallppaer, just like staying in Grandma's guest room, but cleaner! Not a spec of grime or dirt anywhere to be seen, even in the nooks and crannies by the toilet. We loved it, and don't want you all to stay here and take our nice inn. :) Pleasing to meet other guests, or relax quietly in your small (about 12x12) room and not be annoyed by chit-chat. Rooms ideal for two person, but not more (kids..too cramped). If you plan on a randy hibbity, might be heard in hallway, otherwise nicely private. One small note: room air freshener was sickening, sweet and aromatic made us headachy and nauseous like Skipper (and MayAnn) on the SS Minnow. We unplugged it and still stank like a broken vat of Liz Taylor's White Diamonds. But open window made it sleepable (albeit with dreams of my Aunt Millie, all perfume drenched and kissing my dimpled cheek--yuck!). Can walk to all of Galena from here; about 1/4 mile to everything. Private parking even for custom mega-van like mine. Off road. Go! Enjoy! Great place (ask them to unplug before you get there).

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WrenSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

Property: Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Address: 345 Spring Sreet, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A treasury of Federal and Venacular style historic homes located in the heart of Galena. Completely renovated with private baths whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. High pillow-top mattresses, Calvin Klein designer towels and lace linens. Hand delivered breakfast baskets to your room whenever you awaken. Large off street private parking lots to leave your vehicles while you walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to town for everything. Mid-Week Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing