We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem - Greenbriar Inn in Galena, IL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Real Gem - Greenbriar Inn in Galena, IL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2004

The Greenbriar Inn is a real gem in Galena! Located within walking distance of downtown Galena and all it's wonderful shops, it's a perfect setting for a peaceful weekend or an extended stay. My family has stayed there on our last three trips to the area. We just love the beautiful grounds and wonderfully decorated
rooms - so inviting and cozy!
Bill and Barbara are wonderful hosts and made us all feel so comfortable. They are impecable innkeepers providing the most wonderful lodging experience. I highly recommend the Greenbriar and will stay there again and again.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bobik49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
113
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2004

We have stayed at Greenbriar ever since our 2nd Anniversary. The friendly staff has always provided the best accomodations and excellent recommendations on how to truly enjoy Galena. Make sure you spend some time in the Country Inn for a classic home-away-from-home feel. Cosy up to the fireplace in the dining room with a book or have a cup of tea on the porch. Greenbriar has given us the warmest and some of the most memorable moments in Galena.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin Provincial Park, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2004

Wow, lovely stay at Elmira room (see Net photos), small but very charming and private, back of Inn thus quiet. Continental b-fast now in kitchen with warm breads and fruits. Cleanliness is wow, zoinks! Vinyl bathroom floors, wallppaer, just like staying in Grandma's guest room, but cleaner! Not a spec of grime or dirt anywhere to be seen, even in the nooks and crannies by the toilet. We loved it, and don't want you all to stay here and take our nice inn. :) Pleasing to meet other guests, or relax quietly in your small (about 12x12) room and not be annoyed by chit-chat. Rooms ideal for two person, but not more (kids..too cramped). If you plan on a randy hibbity, might be heard in hallway, otherwise nicely private. One small note: room air freshener was sickening, sweet and aromatic made us headachy and nauseous like Skipper (and MayAnn) on the SS Minnow. We unplugged it and still stank like a broken vat of Liz Taylor's White Diamonds. But open window made it sleepable (albeit with dreams of my Aunt Millie, all perfume drenched and kissing my dimpled cheek--yuck!). Can walk to all of Galena from here; about 1/4 mile to everything. Private parking even for custom mega-van like mine. Off road. Go! Enjoy! Great place (ask them to unplug before you get there).

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WrenSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2004

My husband & I stayed at the Greenbriar over the weekend and enjoyed our stay. It was close enough to walk to downtown. It was quite even though on a busy street. The owners were awesome. We are planning to return soon. Nice getway from city.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2004

This place was a nice find within walking distance from downtown, so we didn't have to worry about finding a parking space. Plus the price for the entire suite was cheaper than most smaller hotels in the area.
We stayed in one of the suites which was quaint, pretty large and provided a nice continental breakfast whenever you woke up. The grounds were beautiful and had a patio where they lit tiki lights at night. The innkeeper was very helpful in giving us directions and ideas on where to eat dinner.
The only improvement I would make is to enlarge the whirpool bathtub to fit two.
I'd definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelmoreChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2004

We stayed in the Greenbriar Bed and Breakfast for three days and loved it! It was a step back in time, comfortable, quaint and homey. The owner and employees could not have been more helpful from finding our way about town, to obtaining a suitable wedding cake for my granddaughter's wedding! We loved Greenbriar, had rooms for many of our wedding party, and it was a grand reunion! If you want a taste of home, try Greenbriar, we hope to come again in the future.
Thanks guys, for a great memorable time!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites

Property: Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Address: 345 Spring Sreet, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A treasury of Federal and Venacular style historic homes located in the heart of Galena. Completely renovated with private baths whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. High pillow-top mattresses, Calvin Klein designer towels and lace linens. Hand delivered breakfast baskets to your room whenever you awaken. Large off street private parking lots to leave your vehicles while you walk 1 and 1/2 blocks to town for everything. Mid-Week Specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing