We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greenbriar Country Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$85
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeSoto House Hotel(Galena)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
199
29
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
29
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgreen briarwarm muffinsoff street parkingwalk downtownb bmain streetscreened in porchtwin sisterrooms are clean and comfortablemy husband and iplace to stayfresh fruitwedding partyhard boiled eggsone night staywine glasses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 234 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I have never stayed in a B&B before, but am sold on the experience now. Our room was lovely, facing a busy street but we are used to traffic noise so it didn't both us. The walk to main street is an easy 5 minutes. It was nice meeting the other guests in the morning over coffee and muffins in the kitchen. Common areas pleasant, my husband and I sat in the living room one evening drinking a bottle of wine, reading and relaxing. A wonderful weekend that I hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhd1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Traveled to Galena on their busiest week end of the year and stayed at the Greenbriar.
We stayed in the inn,room #5,and even though it was a bit small it more than met all our needs. It is in the back of the inn and had easy access to the parking area and was very quiet.
Each morning in the kitchen area there was fresh fruit,muffins and freshly baked bread for breakfast served buffett style. It was all very good and it was nice to eat on our schedule as opposed to most B&B's where it is at a set time.
The owners were both very pleasant and kept all the rooms and grounds around the inn very clean.
The inn is located close to downtown and it was a very easy walk to Main Street.
We would not hesitate to stay there again!!
The only thing that kept it from being a perfect weekend was it was darn cold on Saturday!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a suite, quiet, very comfortable. Room was very clean. Brought a breakfast of, warm bread, fruit, warm muffin and juice in a basket to our front door every morning after we called to order. Had a list of different fruits and muffins, juices to choose from. It is close to walk to Main street, and to some of the other sites to see. I would stay there again, No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first time in Galena as well as our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We really enjoyed our time at the Green Briar. It was close enough to walk to the shops downtown which was perfect because there is NO parking downtown! We stayed in a suite which was very spacious and the bed was super comfy. The continental breakfast was perfect and we were quite full after indulging in all those baked goods! The only negative to our trip were some loud guests staying upstairs from us. We could hear their entire conversation! I think if they were speaking at a regular volume it wouldn’t have been an issue, but on a romantic getaway the last thing we wanted to hear was noisy neighbors. Other than that, we enjoyed every minute! Thanks Green Briar, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caramorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here every year for the last 4 years. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. There is a picnic table on a deck where we were able to eat and play cards. The banana bread they bring to the room every morning is the best I have ever had. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the Galena area.

Room Tip: Room numbers 8 and 9 are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews