We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of the Goldmoor's Monthly cookout at their Pavilion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cordova, Il.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of the Goldmoor's Monthly cookout at their Pavilion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having stayed and eaten at the Goldmoor before, we were excited to try their their monthly cookout. The Pavilion is absulutely beautiful. This coupled with the superb quality of the Barbecued food made for extremly enjoyable night. The Inkeepers and staff treated us like family.

We met some of the Wedding party that were getting married the next day, and they also shared our enthusiasm.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    46
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
380
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you're looking for a great weekend getaway in the State of Illinois well the Goldmoor Inn in Galena, IL should really be on your list of must see places. My daughter and I recently spent my birthday weekend there and I must say that entire experience was simply wonderful. We rented a private cottage that was absolutely beautiful. You had everything you could possibly want including a luxurious king size bed, wonderful walk in steam shower with two awesome showers heads, a huge hot tub and a wonderful screened in dining area in back of your cottage with a deck and dining table out there in case you wanted to have your meals outside. The Mississippi along with wonderful wild flowers, tree's and hills that went as far as you could see were just outside of our eating and sleeping area. Plus we had our own private drive way leading up to the cottage and the front yard was beautifully kept and there was even a nice swing in the yard that was an excellent place to sit and watch nature. The dining facilities in the Inn were FIVE STAR! Everything we had was absolutely wonderful. We can't wait to go back! This place is a hidden treasure for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Such a great place and a wonderful staff we go 2 to 3 times a year. The rooms and view are great!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend get away here and the room was beautiful. We had a great view of the Mississippi River. The bed was super comfortable and the whirlpool tub was very relaxing. The service was very friendly here. The only bad thing was the breakfast was not very good. We very extremely disappointed in what we had for breakfast. We did not have another meal here so i can not say how they were. Beautiful inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLAND PARK, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The setting was spectacular - overlooking the Mississippi River, beautiful sunsets, absolutely perfect. My husband and I needed time away from the stress of our daily lives and jobs, and needed time together. The Goldmoor Inn was the most beautiful, peaceful, romantic, and relaxing place and we can't wait to go back. The staff's attention to detail made every moment special. They made our stay very personalized. We expected to check in and then go into Galena but when we arrived at the Inn it only took one look and we knew we would not be going anywhere. We were simply awestruck at the beauty and quiet of the property. There is not one negative thing we can say about the Goldmoor Inn. Simply said - paradise!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mississippi Suite. Large and sunny with a large enclosed porch overlooking the Miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Six women selected the Goldmoor for our annual reunion (for the last 20 years!). The suites were outstanding--large and beautiful. Setting for the Goldmoor is perfect--overlooking the Mississippi River with lush flowers. Most memorable was the staff. Each person we encountered did whatever we requested to make our stay pleasant and positive. We especially enjoyed our exchanges with the innkeepers--Patricia and Tom. The Goldmoor was a significant factor in our enjoyment of our Galena experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziol2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matteson, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I desperately needed some time away from a very hectic few months to recharge my batteries. I found the Goldmoor Inn just by doing some searches online. The pictures were beautiful. This was my first stay in Galena so I didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival, I was taken aback by the beauty of the property and the awesome location. The scenary, landscaping and river in the backdrop were very soothing. I stayed in the French Country cottage and it was amazing. I loved the outside screened porch. I sat for hours out there watching the birds, trees, river, reading and meditating. The pictures on the website pale in comparison to the real thing. This place is so beautiful and so relaxing. The staff was very welcoming and the food was delicious. Every morning I received a great breakfast served to me in my cottage. I even viewed some of the other rooms in the inn and they were all very nice. You can't go wrong no matter which suite or cottage you select. If you want peace, tranquility, relaxation and beauty, this is your spot. It is a little pricey but very well worth it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Mississippi River. It is an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.7 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
6.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing