We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Felt Manor Guest House
Ranked #12 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 17, 2009

The Felt manor is by far one of Galena's treasures. The innkeepers Dan and Loren went above and beyond to make sure our stay was amazing. From the fesh home made lemon blueberry bread and strawberry pancakes, to the down comforter to snuggle up under. I can not wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisCat425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

Well, we've just returned from a weekend getaway at the Felt Manor in Galena, IL, and it was outstanding. The house is awesomely beautiful, the inn keepers are great and very friendly. The breakfasts were outstanding. My wife and I actually visited the Felt Manor over 12 years ago prior to having kids, but since having kids, we never really had a chance to getaway for a weekend. But this year, for our anniversary, we thought 11 years was long enough to not have a trip for ourselves. Our first thought was the Felt Manor. We had such a nice time there 12 years ago, we were hoping the same inn keepers were still running the house and we were delighted to find out they were. The house itself was built in the 1840's and is still charming as ever. It resides about a block up the hill from all the shops. The daily afternoon reception gathering is also a nice way to meet the other guests and talk with the innkeepers. If you're looking for a magnificent and relaxing B&B to stay at while visiting Galena, IL, this place should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

This was our first time in a bed & breakfast ,and after our experience at Felt Manor, we are hooked. Me and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, the great food, and the graciousness of the owner who went above and beyond to ensure that our every comforts were met. The beautiful manor with its rich history, while old, has lost none of its charm. The food is absolutely delicious, and the owner Laura was a joy to get to know. We are definitely going back.

Palos Hills, Illinois

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nssuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Felt Manor and had a "great escape" from our everyday life into the late 1800's. The Felt Manor has an exciting history with numerous artifacts and furnishings to make the escape complete. Yet , the amenities are 21st Century and the food and the hospitality are timeless. Laura, the Inkeeper, brings a personal touch to the stay and treated our palates to two days of culinary excitement. Her knowledge of the area was helpful for us to put together a wonderful sightseeing and historically enriching visit, not to mention leisurely strolling and shopping in the restored "downtown" area. You cannot go wrong if you build a Galena trip with the Felt Manor as your home base.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank CBJBStPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

My wife and I recently visited Galena and stayed at the Felt Manor. We can't speak highly enough of the gracious host and relaxing atmosphere at the Inn.

From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and more like old friends than new visitors. The Inn has a homelike feeling and is located in an enviable spot for access to the downtown area of Galena.

If for no other reason, we would return for the outstanding breakfast!


Al and Carol Konigson

Stayed: October 2007
Thank NTMPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

My wife and I just returned from another wonderful mid-November weekend in historic Galena, staying at the stately and very comfortable Felt Manor. We look forward to returning every year at this time knowing that Laura the gracious and friendly innkeeper will again blow us away with her warm hospitality, incredible breakfasts and afternoon teas that are something to talk about. Felt Manor is on the National Historic Register and was the home of Lucius Felt, a Galena businessman in the dry goods arena, and is perched on Prospect Street looking down into the city and river valley below. We stayed this time in Susan's Room, a wonderful second-floor room at the front of the home with a great view of this little town which was once the home of General U.S. Grant, whose military leadership saved the day for the Union during the Civil War.
The value to those who are fortunate to find the Felt Manor and stay there is profound. Food offerings, as mentioned before, are at a gourmet level. There is no such thing as a continental breakfast at Felt Manor, the Friday afternoon teas include imaginative and delicious treats of all kinds, and there are cold and hot beverages on hand 24/7 for all guests. If you want a wonderful taste of this historical city tucked in the corner of northwestern Illinois, we highly recommend this terrific bed and breakfast. You won't regret it.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Pelican442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We spent two days/nights at Felt Manor and had a great time. Galena was an interesting and beautiful town that was easily accessed from Felt Manor (as long as you don't mind stairs). Our room was very comfortable and the tea and breakfasts were awesome. We ate breakfast both mornings at around 8:30 and didn't get hungry again until late afternoon. Laura and Sandy were great. We would definitely recommend Felt Manor to anyone travelling to Galena.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank may36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#4 of 32 in Galena
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annie Wiggins Guest House
0.2 mi away
Victorian Mansion
Victorian Mansion
#23 of 32 in Galena
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felt Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felt Manor Guest House

Address: 125 S Prospect St, Galena, IL 61036-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $136 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Felt Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing