We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Delicious”
Review of Fritz and Frites

Fritz and Frites
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Uniquely Delicious”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fritz and Frites provides a menu and nightly specials that offer the best of German and French fair. The menu leans a little more towards German than French. The schnitzels are huge and absolutely delicious. The onion soup has a unique taste and is loaded with two kinds of cheese. We also got a side of the German Potatoe salad which was the very best we ever tasted.

The service was excellent. Our server was professional, friendly and knew the menu and wines very well. He even gave us a travel tip on how to avoid Chicago traffic on our way home to Michigan.

We would absolutely recommend this resturant to traveler's visiting Galena.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadforeverandever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    108
    37
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fritz and Frites is a quietly elegant little bistro. The food is always good -- fresh, well-prepared, and delicious -- the wine list is excellent, and the beer list keeps expanding. If you're looking for luxury, guys in tuxedoes, and a chance to pay too much for a good meal, go somewhere else. If you want good, well presented (but without the "flash") French and German cuisine at a good price, try F&F.

My wife and I visited last on May 22, 2014. It was a special day -- the anniversary of the day we met and, coincidentally, the anniversary of the day we moved into our current home. We were also celebrating a promotion at work. Wait staff were courteous, friendly, and attentive to our needs. We started with a split of champagne. My wife had the Poulet Roti -- roasted half chicken -- and I had one of the specials of the day, which was a delicious hanger steak, rare.

We enjoyed a bottle of French pinot noir (Les Fontenelles) with dinner, and shared a slice of flourless Black Forest cake for dessert (we rarely do dessert except for special occasions). Everything was delicious.

In the past, we have enjoyed a number of things on the F&F menu. I particularly like the sauerbraten.

This was probably our fifth or sixth meal at Fritz and Frites in the last five or six visits to Galena. It's become one of our staples. All due respect for the venerable Vinnie Vanucci's, but when we come to Galena for a single night, we're having dinner at Fritz and Frites.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunrise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were in Galena for a wedding and decided to eat lunch here....Since we live in Chicago we did not expect much ... But to our delight this was one of the best meals bar none in any city or country....I had the quiche..my husband the brats and sister and niece had the salads...also an order of fries... wine and beer selection were to die for.
you must go here if nowhere else....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animalloverSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is a small intimate place to have dinner with friends and family. The food is German and French. The menu is selective but wonderful. I go there on special occasions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShotziGalena_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

There were 5 of us so we divided our entrées between the French and the German choices, the food was very good and we recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritz and Frites also viewed

 

Been to Fritz and Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing