We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fritz and Frites

Fritz and Frites
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Europe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ordered wiener schnitzel and a French beef stew. Both were excellent! Service was very professional too. Can't wait to go back to try more dishes!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelfunsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    104
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place reminded us of bistros in Belgium. They have very good food - we had the pork schnitzel and a good selection of beers and wines. Excellent service and nice atmosphere. It is at the end of Main Street, but it's worth it the walk or the drive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The menu is truly unique. The quality of the food exceptional. If you are looking for a nice and special restaurant..this is the one. I loved the salmon ..exceptionally prepared with a wonderful sauce. My husband had steak and especially enjoyed the onion soup. And you must try the sauerkraut, it is how sauerkraut should be. And make sure to enjoy a bottle of wine from their extensive wine list, we took the recommendation of the waitress and were very pleased with our wine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildIrishRoseDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Galena!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

First of all the service was top-notch!!! The server was very patient while we discussed our wine choices. She was also very helpful and had no problem with us splitting specials and various things so we could share numerous plates. I appreciate the wine list!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Love, love, love Fritz and Frites!!! This is our absolute favorite place to eat in Galena. The weiner schnitzel was outstanding, as always. Also had the mussels in white wine.... delicious! We'll definitely be back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparrothead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fritz and Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing