We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Popcorn and much more!

Let me start by saying that I absolutely LOVE these types of stores! So many varieties of popcorn... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
juliefE2787NV
,
New Lenox, Illinois
via mobile
yummy

popcorn, fudge, licorice and cotton candy. wish i could have gotten more,maybe next time, the aroma... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lor35805
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
132
19
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
19
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caramel corn fudge free samples cotton candy popcorn flavors birthday cake small bag unique flavors an ice cream shop free deal offering samples salt water taffy huge bags memphis bbq many choices fun shop main street galena
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 157 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Like flies drawn to honey (or manure), people simply cannot resist entering the Great American Popcorn Company. And, yes, it's a fun place. Entertaining to see the mountains of popcorn and sample till you're sick. You'll almost surely also be compelled to buy a bag or two of the sweet and sticky stuff. From my perspective, though, the popcorn is grossly overpriced (most flavor as more than $7 a bag). And, it's really not that good. People seem to get caught up in the excitement of seeing the piles of popcorn, but frankly, the taste isn't all the great.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

The smells drew me into this delightful store. Soooo many flavors and you can sample any of them before you buy. It was seriously hard to decide which flavors to get, the Tiger Butter and Memphis BBQ were particularly good. Super friendly and efficient service. Will definitely be stopping in, next time we are in town, awesome, fun place.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

This place smells amazing. You can sample any of the flavors they have (and there are dozens). My favorite is still the plain caramel corn. Zap it in the microwave for just a few seconds to warm it slightly before eating it. tastes like it came right out of the popper!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank MotherOfTwoSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Husband and I both got ice cream and popcorn. Both equally yummy especially on a very hot day. Would recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank pho2angela75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

I'm from Chicago and we have Garret's popcorn. When we topped at the GAPC it was really cute inside and they had samples of everything! That day their special was the cookies and cream popcorn! I at first though yuk - omg it was amazing. It was so good! A small bag ran $7 and I think the large is $14. So this is a great little place to stop for a snack which strolling the street's of Galena to shop or to take back home! I will be coming back - you give Garret's a run for their money! Nice job!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews