We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Galena, walk to everything....”
Review of Main Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Main Street Inn
Ranked #16 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This place is great. You are on Main street so can walk to all the shops and restaurants that Galena has to offer. The room we were in was spacious and clean. We tend to go to Galena once o month and have stayed at a bunch of places that Galena has to offer. This is now the only place for us. We park our car on Friday when we arrive and do not need it again till we leave on Sunday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bip8734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Main Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 140 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

Room #4 was large, cozy and most of all very clean! Prime location! Our schedules were such that we missed meeting the Inn Keepers, but they were gracious enough to leave the keys in our room so we could come and go as we pleased. The fruit and chocolates were a nice touch and much appreciated after a full day of snowboarding at the nearby mountain. If you are looking for a place to stay while shopping, skiing, and eating at wonderful restaurants nearby, this is the best Inn in the heart of it all!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fudge2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Made reservation by phone. Owner contacted me in a few hours to confirm details. I have stayed at most hotels in the area. So far, I like this one the best.

Checked in at 8 at night, and after pushing "doorbell" was greeted by the friendly owner. Check in took a few minutes and then it was up to the 2nd floor for the room (no rooms are on the first floor, only checkin.

The room (#2) was elegant with with old style wallpaper, old style lamps and a statue or two. It was clean, had a good sized bathroom with nice new clean fixtures and was very well lit.

The pictures on their website and advertisement were nice, but don't do the room justice. We REALLY liked this room.


Breakfast was minimal, with hot coffee (good!) and some bread and pastry pieces. Chocolates were left on the lobby counter all day to snack on.

The Inn was as quaint and unique as the town its self.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unhomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway right in the heart of historic Galena. Very close to shopping, and nice, clean rooms. I will definitely stay here again next time I visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler747474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I had a great experience staying at the Main Street Inn. You can't beat the location, parked the car and walked to shops and restaurants. The room was charming and clean. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious the room and private bath were. We have spent a lot more for rooms in Galena and they did not have as much to offer as the Main Street inn.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendtraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The location of Main Street Inn is perfect. Walking to all the shops, restaurants, etc. was very easy. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. The hostess friendly and helpful, being familiar with the area. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Very cozy getaway during the cold December temperatures. We were right down town and within walking distance to everything. Our rooms was clean and comfy. Though there were other guests, it was very quiet and private. Will return again in the Spring.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaye30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.2 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Main Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing