We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best PrimeRib ever!”

Log Cabin Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best PrimeRib ever!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited the Galena visitor cent and they gave us a discount card for various shps and restaurants in area.
The Log Cabin offered a $16.95 special so we gave it a try.
The meat was so tender and flavorful I have to say it was the best ever.
Service was great people made you feel very welcome.
If ever back in Galena it would be on the menu,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    200
    91
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Galena's Log Cabin is a must!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

You definitely need a reservation for this popular dining spot, it's expensive, and finding parking may be aggravating, but it is well worth the visit! My husband (from Scotland) said his T Bone steak was the best he's ever had and my Queen filet was prepared exactly as I asked and was delicious. They are willing to prepare anything Greek style, and the Greek fries are out of this world.Although the cracker basket, relish tray, and decor are somewhat outdated, it was refreshing to see professionally dressed wait staff who are very attentive and friendly (we had Brian who also gave us some
good advice on places to see). There's a reason why this establishment has been in business so long, and long may they continue!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
“Great staff! Delicious prime rib!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a perfect restaurant for our anniversary weekend getaway! Staff is very friendly/attentive and Harry can make a delicious Long Island iced tea. So many menu choices - so much food! Fresh bread/butter, fresh veggie tray with the best homemade cheese spread; medium well prime rib (cooked perfectly) along with a salad and French fries (Greek style, of course). Thanks! Truly enjoyed and we will be back!!

The Martinis from St. Charles

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lamb Chops Greek Style”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous meal at Log Cabin. Many restaurants to choose from, this is a must stop. I had their lamb chops prepared Greek style. They flavor was awesome! Service was very good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for a big steak in a small town.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

During our getaway in Galena..I made reservations at the Log Cabin in advance since I was told Labor Day weekend is Galena's busiest season. Food was great and very cheap $$. I had the
Ribeye Cut with Baked Potatoe and my wife had the Beef Kabob with Baked Potatoe. Both of us were very pleased with our selection. Service was very good. Our waiter was very attentive to any of our request. If you are ever in Galena and miss Chicago steaks...get your fix at the Log Cabin Restaurant. This will be another addition to Pedro's Best Place in Illinois!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitedove777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing