We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Knowledge a Must-See”

Galena / Jo Daviess County Historical Society and Museum
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's worth the climb up the steep stairway to see what's inside this lovely Italianate home built in 1858: an actual lead mine, Civil War memorabilia, items honoring Ulysses S. Grant (including an original painting depicting Robert E. Lee's surrender to Grant), plus other historical articles from Galena and Jo Daviess County.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Local Knowledge a Must-See”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This excellent two-story museum tells of Galena's rise as a lead mine town and historically significant place in American history, particularly during the Civil War. Abraham Lincoln, Mark Tawin and U.S. Grant all walked Galena's streets (and Grant's family called it home). This museum tells the whole story, giving background and personal stories to this important era.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TaliskerSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    76
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Hologram presentation & the videos explaining the area & Ulysses & Julis Grant & the Civil War were excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyWVonoreTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Even if you are not a history buff- I think you'll like”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was kind of dreading coming here, but my husband is a big history buff so I had to go. Well, wasn't I surprised when I found myself really liking the place! We were greeted my a lovely lady who ran the gift shop. She then had a watch a darling hologram movie featuring Grant and his wife. we toured the museum in about 2 hours, but the time went fast. The only thing that I could see being difficult is the parking lot.... limited spaces all facing down on an angle. But we went during the day and there were only a few people there. Great for all ages! check it out!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellyann89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

For those of us who love American history, this is a satisfying experience. The hologram welcome and later video worked with displays of artifacts and art (beautiful portrait of Julia Grant) to keep one thinking & absorbing. To offer a view into an actual lead mine was quite special. The Nash painting was the icing on the cake!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraKozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Home of a painting you'll recognize”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A fascinating application of technology enhances the interesting artifacts. Video clips do a great job of explaining the history presented. They even have an actual lead mine you can look into! This museum doesn't just present history, it explains it.

Upstairs you can see the original painting by Thomas Nast depicting Lee's surrender at Appomattox Court House, which you'll probably recognize from your school day history books.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GH_traveler_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galena / Jo Daviess County Historical Society and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Galena / Jo Daviess County Historical Society and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing