We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience is like spending time with old friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldrich Guest House
Ranked #2 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The experience is like spending time with old friends!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fran & Brian are so down to earth, warm & friendly ! We can't thank you enough for another wonderful stay in your home :) The homemade breakfasts are delectable ! We could stay here & chat forever ! Thank you again for your warm hospitality!!!!
Paula & Mark Randazzo
Oak Lawn, IL.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
The pleasure is all ours. We had a great time catching up, there is never enough time to hear all the news!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
316
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We wanted a regional destination with a lovely seasonal color trip on the way, so we chose a fall drive downriver to historic, beautiful Galena. We picked Aldrich Guesthouse for a quiet, welcoming respite from the bustle of Galena's busiest weekend, the Country Craft Fair (not what we'd come for, but fun nonetheless!) Hosts Brian and Fran were welcoming and knowledgeable hosts, the other guests (all five rooms full) were great fun, and the room was charming and comfortable. The breakfast the following morning was ample and delicious. This is first-class accomodation at reasonable rates. Stay at Aldrich Guesthouse and prepare to be delighted!

Room Tip: We did not view the other four rooms, of five total, and we had a smaller room that was charming. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaliskerSaintPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We appreciate it very much and hope to see you both again.
Fran & Brian
Aldrich Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fran & Brian provided a wonderful spot for rest and relaxation. Their historic home is beautifully restored and full of attention to details for guests comfort. The Aldrich is located just a short walk from downtown with many shops and excellent restaurants. Fran's breakfasts were amazing in both taste and presentation. It was so inviting to enjoy the garden view from the screen porch.
We also enoyed touring the Galena Historical Museum and the trolley ride to learn about Galena's history and culture. We plan to return to Aldrich Guest house to enjoy the gracious hospitality offered there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyWVonoreTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Judy,
Thank you so much for choosing the Aldrich, you and your "gals" were so much fun! Loved visiting with you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first B&B experience as we celebrated our first wedding anniversary. Aldrich Guest House is a great location where you can walk to Main street using the pedestrian bridge a couple blocks away. The B&B has great size rooms and were very clean. Very reasonably priced and great value. I loved how quiet the house was. I never heard the room next to us or people coming and going. Breakfast is AMAZING. You are well fed during your visit here. They also have snacks, water, and pop always available, especially nice during warm weather. Fran and Brian are very knowledgeable about all the Galena happenings and events and happily answer all and any questions! Definitely recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We really have nothing to add to the reviews below. It's nice, quiet, quirky, clean as a whistle, hospitable, and just what you'd expect a B and B to be. We stayed three nights and finally had to beg Fran not to feed us so well. There are so many fine restaurants in Galena that we simply could not enjoy them on a full breakfast stomach. And Galena is a hilly town. Try dragging your breakfast-laden bodies up and down all day! Fran cheerfully complied - by serving us each TWO huge muffins with egg and sausage and a boatload of fruit! Come hungry, folks!

Room Tip: We chose the Clara McClellan room. It was charming, had a very comfortable queen bed, and overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joansie51048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We had a great time visiting with all of you, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Hope to see you again.
Fran & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a great find this lovely B&B is! Lovely old brick house situated perfectly for exploring the city. 5 guest rooms, plus you have use of the large beautiful parlor and screen porch plus a tv room. Very hospitable, knowledgeable hosts who provide a great hot breakfast. The porch is great for reading, glass of wine or coffee, and viewing the gardens. The hosts provide Fresh cookies and other snacks, plus a fridge stocked with water and soft drinks.

We stayed in Claras room which was small, but you have the run of the house so it was not a problem for us. Other rooms have more room it appears.

We will definitely make this our first pick for a place to,stay of we are in Galema again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelife16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to seeing you both again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this lovely B & B for our wedding anniversary. The property was very well maintained, rich in history and a great location. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewer, Owner at Aldrich Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you, and we're glad we were able to make your anniversary special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.3 mi away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 32 in Galena
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldrich Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldrich Guest House

Property: Aldrich Guest House
Address: 900 Third St., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aldrich Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the next generation of bed and breakfasts at Aldrich Guest House, Galena's premier boutique bed and breakfast. You will find the elegance and luxury of the mansion that the house was built for in 1845 perfectly blended with modern sophistication and unsurpassed professional, intuitive, yet unobtrusive service. Located just a 5 minute walk to Main Street, whether you're coming to enjoy the Galena Triathlon of "Eating, Shopping, and Drinking", to explore the stunning surrounding hills by hiking, biking, or skiing, or to simply enjoy time together with that special someone or even to have a friends or family getaway, Aldrich Guest House is the perfect home base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Aldrich Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldrich Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing