We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

The Generals' Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Generals' Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 62 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a mid-week overnight at the Desoto House Hotel. We had dinner at Generals Restaurant and the food was wonderful. The service is very prompt and the waitresses were really helpful and always had a smile on their face. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a good place to have dinner while in town. The piano player was a nice touch at dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This establishment is located in the Desoto House Hotel, downtown Galena. My wife and I have stayed at the hotel many times but never patronized this restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised! The food was very good, the service was excellent and the wine list was above average. The roast Duckling is exceptional!
Don't buy all the hype about other restaurants on Main St , this one is every bit as good, and better than most.
Get a window seat so you can watch people walking, through the atrium. Make your resv.for after 730pm since most of the families with children have moved on, if you're looking for a quiet spot. Also, live music on the wknds!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Did New Years Eve with a big group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lots of variety for everyone from burgers to seafood and streaks. I had a crusted salmon with blueberries and strawberries reduction sauce which was very good and my girlfriend had scallops over linguini that was excellent. Great Selection of wines and lots of history here in the Desoto Hotel. The General is located in the lower level of the hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emery2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quick lunch with carolers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a group of four, stopped in for a quick lunch and were surprised to see the carolers. Such a good touch. Our table ordered the hamburger, pulled pork sandwich and 2 orders of chicken wings. All were great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosiePeoria_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!! Fantastic atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food was excellent!! There were 5 of us, 3 of us had the filet for dinner and it was fantastic. Cooked exactly how we asked for it. My son had the pretzel crusted walleye and he also loved it. My older son is a very picky eater for 18 years old and wouldn't eat anything off the menu so they got a hamburger for him off the Green St. Tavern menu. That was so wonderful!!! The best part about this place though is the location and décor. I love the "Lady in Black" story. We sat so our kids could see the wall!!! Fantastic!!!! Very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbelle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Generals' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Generals' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing