We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Benjamin's - CLOSED

Benjamin's
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent Choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had lunch here while out shopping Galena's main street. Both of us had burgers and found them to be tasty as well as the french fries were good. Service was fast, there was only one server but he kept up fine. This wouldn't be my first choice to dine at next time, but overall it's a decent choice. I found the prices to be reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    32
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long wait, moldy cheese”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I were on a date and decided to stop by Benjamin's for a romantic dinner. Unfortunately, it was anything but! The service wasn't good, our waiter was nowhere to be found most of the time. I only ordered a salad but it took forever for our food to get to the table. When it finally did arrive, the cheese on the salad tasted a bit off and my husband wasn't impressed with his food either. Definitely not worth the price we paid! We won't be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great start to a fun night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We started our ghost tour here. Service was fast and bartenders were very friendly. We had a app. that was some sort of bean dip that was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not real impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch while geocaching in Galena. My wife and I orderd hamburgers. They appeared to be premade frozen hamburgers and were not very good. I would not eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Save your money and eat elsewhere. This was the only bad meal we had while on a weekend visit to Galena. The food took forever to be delivered and when it was stone cold and awful. The owner finally did come to our table after repeated requests and then tried to blame the waiter verydisappointing. We did get part of the meals removed from bill but left hungry angry and an hour and a half wasted. There are a number of good restaurants in Galena but this is not one of them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing