We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The front desk service is excellent, friendly and helpful. No coffee/tea in the lobby. Room is quite and spaceous. The carpet in the room is dirty. The toilet has disgusted yellow stains and the towels are old and torn out. No hot water, not even warm, when we took a shower. The continental breakfast is simple and plain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We decided to visit Galena, but didn't have a lot of money to spend for the weekend. We decided to stay at the Ramada instead of a bed & breakfast to save a little money to spend in the shops. We were very surprised that hotel is beautiful! Our room was clean, it had a new bed and it was quiet. We enjoyed time in the pool (which you don't generally get in Galena). We will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was visiting friends in Illinois and we decided to visit Galena the Home of U.S. Grant, civil war general and President of the U.S.A.

We stayed at this hotel for three days which is a couple of miles outside the town on US20 and the rate included breakfast which was better than a lot I have experienced on other trips, plenty of choice including great waffles, cereals, juices, bagels, toast , muffins and toppings.
The rooms were clean and well maintained, there was a huge pool area and we slept well.
I would go back to this hotel if ever in this area again.
Jonboy

Room Tip: Look for a room back from the highway it might be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Decided to visit Galena and looked for package deals. Came across the Ramada's great deal. If you see these deals be sure you book over the internet as they will not honor them over the phone.
The room we requested was 2 dbl beds. It was roomy and clean. There are really no "views" as it sits between a residence and a Bed and Breakfast Mansion. They do however, have a swimming pool and exercise room. Neither of which we used. All our exercise came from a day of shopping in downtown Galena.
This Ramada is two stories but as an FYI there is no elevator. It's not like your drudging up a mountain but if stairs present a problem, make sure you request a room on the ground floor.
Breakfast consists of a nice variety of cereals, yogurt (flavor changes each day), donuts, muffins, make your own waffles, bagels and white bread for toasting as well as microwaveable french toast. Coffee and juice also available. There was a group of ladies staying there as well as a bus load of people but as soon as a table was empty, the young lady was quick to clean off the tables. Impressed on how they kept everything there tidy.
There is also a small room that has a microwave available to anyone along with the option of purchasing snack type foods to heat. They are just a few blocks away from a Walmart so if you stay with kids you can get all their goodies there and use the micro if needed.
Spa is a day spa so there are no showers, robes etc that you would normally get at a full service spa. They do offer everything from a massage to mani/pedi and hair salon. My companion got a massage and loved it. I opted for a pedi and wasn't as thrilled.
Also wanted to used a Visa debit card I had but their machine doesn't accept those. However they do take checks (but not travellers). Go figure.
Do not ask to stay 1 minute past check out (requested 1/2 hr) NO WAY! Also the keys have a tendency not to work. Several people we noticed had that problem. Also prior to our arrival I wanted to get a more precise answer on directions to the Motel. Called 3 different times with no answer from the Operator. Even tried the Spa extension given by the automated message and only got a recording that they were unavailable and leave a message. Both Motel and Spa left a sour taste and I was leary if I had made a wise decision.
So there you have it. You're not going to get the service of a fine hotel but its clean, convenient to everything and decent continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Check the internet for good deals..................Remember, no elevators available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfriends2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My fiancee and I make a yearly trek to Galena. For the past two years we have stayed here and have been very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. It has a beautiful setting in the back and it is very convenient to stores close by, down Galena, and the riverboat rides on the Mississippi River from Dubuque. We plan on making the Ramada in Galena part of our yearly trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The lighting was very poor. We had two couples in the room, and only light by the beds was in the middle... and not bright enough for someone on the outside to read in bed. Sheets fit VERY poorly and came off the bed in the middle of the night, more than once, we found ourselves sleeping on the bare mattress. Also, the room had no dresser, which made it difficult for 4 people, or even 2, to stay for multiple nights. Breakfast buffet... so so... but should have offered more flavors than strawberry types of yogurt.

Room Tip: Microwave and fridge were an extra charge. If you are staying more than one or two nights and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Ramada Galena ,Ill really is a favorite for us-Ive read everyones reviews and you all complain about dirty carpets-Have you ever stopped to THINK how much traffic a hotel really gets!!??And FYI---ALL the carpets were just shampooed and cleaned our last visit-We actually had to wait for the guy to finish shampooing-Sooo-I assure you carpets are freshly cleaned!!We absolutely love this place!!!STAFF is great-Love the rooms and the deck-wow--Its awesome-We sat out there til 2 am enjoying the outdoors!!We finally got to bring another couple--They said theyd stay no where else but there-They loved it too!!The pool was great as was the jacuzzzi!!!Breakfast not bad but for a full breakfast is just right out the door--soo-You cant go wrong!!Another thing-----People are complaining about the decor being old---PEOPLE THIS IS VICTORIAN!!!!!!beautiful at that!!!!!!The bedding is used quilts makes it very unique!!!IF YOU WANT A BRAND NEW BEDSPREAD and BRAND NEW CARPET-yea-go someplace else-IF YOU WANT THAT HOMEY FEELING BEAUTIFUL VICTORIAN FEEL GREAT STAFF AND ROOMS-CHECK OUT THE RAMADA!!!!ONLY CON i have but is fixable-is the water--it does have IRON in it-BUT -if you have bottled water to make your coffee-its all good!!!

Room Tip: Love the rooms with jacuzzi in the room!! A door leads out back so you can sit---or the deck is supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galena
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.7 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
2,316 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa

Address: 11383 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9685
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: $81 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Downtown Galena, Shopping and Dining. Our Ramada Galena Hotel was made for whatever occasion you have in mind, be it your wedding and reception, hosting a business event, or having a romantic getaway near Dubuque. Located on Highway 20 and situated on 10 well-manicured acres, including a catch-and-release fishing pond and beautiful gardens, our Galena, IL, hotel offers bed and breakfast charm in northwestern Illinois. Each room features standard amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, and you are invited to use the fitness center complete with 67-foot indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room and volleyball court. Savor in a full body wrap, hot stone massage or a manicure at our full-service day spa, then return to your room for a relaxing evening. Suites with hot tubs and fireplace, as well as handicapped-accessible rooms, are available at our non-smoking Galena, Illinois, hotel. After a refreshing night of rest, start each day of your stay with free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Day Spa Galena
Ramada Galena
Galena Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing