We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef!!”
Review of La Familia Cafe and Cakery - CLOSED

La Familia Cafe and Cakery
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Galena, Illinois
2 reviews
“Chef!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Awesome place. Always get the burrito and the chef will always make it extra authentic and spicy just for me. Also, he helped me out of a jam on valentines day. Talk about a last minute request but the chef made sure my lady received a very nice pastry tray. Thank you for the food and my last minute valentine gift. Will always come back

Helpful?
Thank Schuchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently exceptional food, cozy, welcoming, affordable”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This family owned restaurant has risen to the top of our list of favorites in Galena...and that's a
pretty impressive list of really fine dining. Senen, the owner /chef and his family are friendly and very casual. The space is charming, cozy, and small. The food is consistently delicious, made from scratch, the servings ample, and the prices are very reasonable. They have their own bakery, and
the desserts from flan to tres leches cake to berry custard pie are home baked and scrumptious.
Our only fear is La Familia will become so popular, we will get crowded out of this absolute gem of a dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cowgirlsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG AMAZING!! Mexican food!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Ok right off of main st there is a diagonal street with a magical little place that serves the BEST AND I MEAN BEST CAKE AND CHEESECAKE u will ever eat along with Grade A tacos and burritos!! And did I mention personal chef French toast always a different flavor simply AMAZING!! If u want authentic and affordable go there you won't be disappointed. U can't beat the price, food, or service!!

Helpful?
Thank Joshthegobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful wedding cake”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was in Galena with friends as they planned their wedding, and we tasted cake after cake trying to find the right one for thier wedding. We finally found it at La Familia. We tasted four cakes there -- two versions of tres leches (one with peaches, one with chocolate), a lemon & raspberry cake, and a red velvet with cheescake filling. All were delicious -- moist, with a perfect cake crumb, just the right amount of sweet. Everything is from scratch. Too bad we couldn't stay for lunch, but we will go there for a meal next time we are in Galena.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Truly the best Mexican restaurant in town. It's a small intimate place that is just right for both a casual or romantic dinner. The chips and salsa, made with just the right amount of heat and cilantro, are authentically home made. My favorite is the carne asada and it was outstanding. But everything is great and authentic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Familia Cafe and Cakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing