We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a handful of words cannot possibly describe how amazing this place is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We just got married at the Cloran Mansion and it was a magical experience from beginning to end. We chose this B&B over others because they offer an "elopement" package that includes the officiant, flowers, a cake, champagne and pictures for a very reasonable price. From the moment we arrived, Carmine and Cheryl made us feel like part of the family. We stayed in the Sara Suite which is a little larger than their other rooms. It is beautifully decorated, gets a lot of sun during the day, and has a cozy fireplace. The bathroom is also very spacious and has a jacuzzi tub and vanity which was perfect for wedding preparations. Breakfast each morning was almost overwhelming with a variety of delicious selections that had us full until dinner. We also chose the "Just for Two" romance package that includes a couples massage and romantic candlelight dinner right in the room. The food was fabulous and the massages (our first ever) did not disappoint. The wedding itself was held in the garden which was obviously well cared for. There is an amazing screened in gazebo, a pond with a little waterfall, and a relaxing sitting area with a fire pit. Overall, we could not have asked for a better venue for our wedding. Carmine and Cheryl far exceeded every expectation and we hope to revisit both them and this beautiful B&B again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZ_Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 676 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were married recently at the Cloran Mansion and had a wonderful time. Our family stayed there with us and we enjoyed it tremendously. The rooms are beautiful and cozy.
The breakfasts are out of this world, and they were very accommodating for special diets. I also highly recommend their wedding cake. It was amazing! Carmine and Cheryl made themselves available to us, but allowed us to come and go as we pleased all weekend. We appreciated that. They also worked out all the wedding day details with me and were patient with my many special requests. They made sure the grounds were extra clean and most impressive for the big day. My only wish was that we would have arranged the chairs for the ceremony differently so the sun wasn't in everyone's eyes. Other than that, everything was great. We hope to celebrate our anniversary there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and two children loved the Cloran Mansion's condo at Longhollow Point! A beautiful, relaxing place to stay that is quiet, yet very kid friendly. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. The condo had a great balcony, a wonderful jacuzzi with a TV and fireplace in the bathroom, a kitchen area, a very comfortable king size bed with luxurious bedding, as well as a comfortable pull out couch for our two sons.

The indoor pool and game room were terrific! Our kids didn't want to leave either one!

Breakfast at the Cloran Mansion was nothing like anything we had experienced before. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was elegant and charming. Cheryl and Carmine were excellent hosts and made us feel right at home. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoVacation4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Carmine & Cheryl are wonderful hosts! They are extremely hospitable and made us feel right at home. The attention they give you from the first moment you arrive to the moment you leave it outstanding. And their breakfast is the best breakfast we have ever had! The room was perfect and relaxing, complete with everything we could need or want! We will ABSOLUTELY return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amynross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I had taken a motorcycle ride through the hills of Southern Wisconsin, ending our weeklong trip with Cheryl and Carmine at the Cloran Mansion. What a relaxing stay we had. The inn keepers are accommodating, welcoming, and the food was great. They pay attention to detail. What a relaxing way to spend a couple of days. We both want to go back again. Galena is a great town for shopping, food and arts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr-Catfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B and it definitely won't be our last! My fiance was not too thrilled about the prospect, but he is now the first to say it was a wonderul experience. Cheryl and Carmine made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The room was very pretty and very comfortable. We loved the whirlpool tub! The yard, garden, gazebo, and pond were also beautiful. Breakfast was delicious, and I'm not even much of a"breakfast person"!!
I spent weeks researching the different B&Bs in Galena and I am very happy with my final selection. You can feel confident about booking your getaway at the Cloran Mansion!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Carm and Cheryl greeted us at the door, squashing our nervousness. The whole weekend was wonderful. We stayed in Alice's Room which is their smallest but perfect for our needs. The bed was extra soft, and the amenities were plentiful. There were movies, cookies, soda, water, M&M's, and many other's all at our disposal.

I would almost call the Cloran a Breakfast & Bed, as the food is incredible. The late breakfast time is perfect and keeps you full well into the afternoon (we skipped lunch both days). Make use of the Mason grounds, the gazebo is a great place to un-wind or just hang out. We will be back for sure, maybe even once more before the year is up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ro66yb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
866 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $138 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing