We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, Wonderful place for a Romantic Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, Wonderful place for a Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at the Cloran Mansion for two nights this past weekend and would highly reccomend it. We stayed in Sara's Suite, which was very roomy and comfortable. Sara's Suite has a very comfortable couch, a small table and two chairs, a mini fridge and a microwave. We had leftovers in our room on the second night and it was nice to be able to enjoy them in our room. The fireplace is gas, so it was instantly on. The bathroom was huge with a large whirlpool tub, heavenly. The only downside is that Sara's Suite is on the first floor next to the front door, which means that you can hear what's happening in the dining room and people coming and going. We could hear people above us, but it was more of the tv, etc. However, these were minor and would certainly not keep us from staying in this room again.

The hosts were extremely friendly and very hospitable. At check in, they gave us a thorough tour and gave us some helpful hints of things to do and see while we were in Galena. The breakfast was the best we've ever had and was huge. We didn't eat lunch on the days we were there. I also appreciated that breakfast was at 9:00 am, and not at the crack of dawn. After check out, we realized that my husband had left his wallet in our room. We called and the owners were out and about, but gave us instructions on how to retrieve it. Later that day, Carmine called to make sure we had found it. I really appreciated that they were concerned.

I would highly reccomend this inn to anyone looking for a nice getaway. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
538
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
katesmine
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed only one night at the cloran mansion, but we didn't want to leave! Our trip got off to a rocky start with some bad news at home and a late start. Carmine called to make sure we weren't lost when we didn't arrive on time. I told him we were running late and he said "no problem, we'll leave the cottage unlocked so you can get in if we're not back from our meeting when you arrive". When they returned and we finally met, I asked what they needed fromme to check in, and he said "don't worry about that, we'll take care of everything when you're ready to leave. We never wanted to own a hotel".
The cottage was so cozy, and the perfect spot for our get away. The main house is just a few steps away and filled with dvd's, cd's, board games and anything else you could need... Not to mention the most incredible breakfast ever! Do not skip out on it, it's worth the whole price of the room. Carmine and Cheryl were so kind and welcoming. We had never done the b&b thing, and felt kinda wierd about just walking into someone else home, but they made it so comfortable and easy. I've already got a girls trip planned to go back and see them.
Stay at the Cloran and you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katesmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had our Christmas time wedding here. Cheryl and Carmine were so accomodating and the B & B was beautifully decorated. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to get married,or a more wonderful day!! Our room upgrade was gorgeous and we had plenty of room to get ready!....Thanks for making our wedding gorgeous! Gary and Kim Dietenberger

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

While the weather outside was frightful(8-10 inches of snow and below 0 wind chill) the stay was sooo delightful. We were in the cottage with a fireplace and hot tub and had everything we needed to make our 3rd stay wonderful. The hosts have been as gracious and accomodating as any that we have ever had in our B & B stays in various parts of the Midwest as well as Hawaii. The Mansion and Cottage were beautifully decorated for the Christmas season adding to our overall enjoyment during the stay. The breakfast was as usual-exceptional. Lord willing we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENJAN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Cloran Mansion exceeded our expectations for a bed and breakfast. We arrived in Galena early and we able to check-in quickly. We found the rooms to be nicely decorated, beautiful gardens, and excellent hosts!!! The breakfasts were out of this world! Two words.....pumpkin pancakes!!!!! The house was at max capacity of 12 but it was still quiet and very relaxing. The DVD libraby offered a nice quiet evening. The mini-fridge was stocked each day and gave us a spot to keep dinner leftovers.

We can't say enough about this B&B or the Cheryl or Carmine. We will return to Galena again and will stay at Cloran!!! Thanks for a great anniversary trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESW2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Excellent accomodations, amenities, and an outstanding breakfast. Cloran made our quick getaway one of our most memorable places to have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingsbrookeKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Our stay at the Cloran Mansion B&B was extremely enjoyable. The owners were very attentive, the breakfast delicious, and the room was warm and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
1.1 mi away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing